“101 Dog Tricks” Challenge – Ongoing Review of Book by Kyra Sundance and Chalcy

101 Dog Tricks: Step by Step Activities to Engage, Challenge, and Bond with Your Dog

This book, “101 Dog Tricks” by Kyra Sundance and Chalcy, cannot be effectively reviewed until I try teaching my dogs some of these tricks.  So I am starting with my younger dog, Maya.  Why am I starting with the younger dog?  Not because Sephi is too old (no dog is too old).  And not because Sephi is less motivated to learn than Maya.  But because Maya has some behavior issues and the best way to improve upon these behavior issues is to build a closer bond and to better develop communication.  Training, any kind of training, makes a better-behaved dog.  The book, “101 Dog Tricks”, states this and I know it from experience.

So this is my challenge.  I am going to start with a trick that Maya doesn’t know and work with her a little bit each day.  When she has learned that trick well enough for me to record on camera, I will post the video here.  I will also post the day I started with the trick, how often I worked with her on it, and how many days (or weeks) it took her to learn it.

But first, let me give you a review on the first part of the book:

The Introduction of “101 Dog Tricks” goes over the proper training methods.  Firstly and most importantly, remember that any dog training endeavor takes guidance, consistency, and motivation (or as per our 4/19/2010 blog post, http://americandogblog.wordpress.com/2010/04/19/fundamental-dog-training-tips-lots-of-tppc/, time, patience, positive reinforcement, and consistency).  The proper training methods which the book explains includes how to find what motivates your dog, how to help your dog be successful, how to keep training fun, the benefits of using both verbal cues and hand signals, and using luring to teach versus using force or manipulation.  Although this section of the book is very short, it is informative and very easy to understand.

Chapter One of “101 Dog Tricks” goes over the basic commands like sit, down, stay, and come.  Since Maya already knows these, we won’t blog about them.  Look for other blog posts on how to teach your dog these commands.

Remember, this is not a chore.  I will only do this for as long as Maya and I are having fun.  Also, I won’t teach Maya all 101 tricks.  She may not be inclined to do some of the tricks and I may not want to teach her some of them.  Speak, for example, is not one I want her to learn.  Sit Pretty may be a trick that is uncomfortable for her to do.

Other things I may not try simply because I don’t have access to the proper equipment (such as an obstacle course).  And one more thing – I will not teach the tricks in the order of the book.  I will probably start with the easiest and the ones which I think will be the most fun.

Although Maya knows how to shake already, I am going to start with teaching her to shake with either the left or right paw.  Other fun tricks we may try include Carry my Purse, Tidy Up Your Toys, Act Ashamed, Turn Off the Light, Soccer, Hoop Jump, Jump Rope, Crawl, and more!

Tags: , ,

One Response to ““101 Dog Tricks” Challenge – Ongoing Review of Book by Kyra Sundance and Chalcy”

  1. Dawn Says:

    I have been procrastinating on getting this started. The holidays have been so busy!!

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,130 other followers

