WANTED – Tough Indestructible Dog Toys for Christmas

Maya Playing with one of Her Kong Dog Toys

Have you stopped buying dog toys for your dog because he chews them all up within minutes?  No matter what toy you get, it never seems to last.  So what do you give your dog for Christmas?  Are there any truly indestructible dog toys out there?  We are going to make a few recommendations but I guarantee you that there will be at least one dog out there who has destroyed the indestructible.  Share your ideas with us and our readers.  Perhaps we will get lucky this year and find just the right dog toy.

The Kong and Extreme Kong
My dog Maya has chewed almost every single toy I have ever bought her.  But the Kong is the only one which she has not managed to destroy.  She has a Jump n Jack Kong and a standard red Kong.  The standard red Kong is indestructible for most dogs.  But if you have a super chewer, the black Extreme Kong is the best.  Dogs love the Kong because of the funny bounce and because you can put treats in them.  The Kong is a bit expensive but it will most likely outlast any other dog toy you can buy.  If you are concerned about cost, don’t get the Kong treat fillers.  Just fill it with your own stuff.  I put peanut butter and chunks of doggy treats in Maya’s Kong.

Kyjen Fire Hose Dog Toy
Another toy which Maya has had a more difficult time chewing is the Fire Hose Dog Toy.  However, she probably could chew it if I just let her chew and chew.   So I only let her play with it on occasion when I can watch her.  This and its durability has made the Fire Hose Dog Toy last her about a year now.  The Fire Hose Dog Toy is made with real fire hose material, so you know its gotta be tough.  And it also floats!  Maya loves to fetch this one from water.

Tuffies Indestructible Dog Toy
Tuffies are good for average chewers but Maya has managed to chew these up.  I still get Maya the Tuffies dog toys because she loves the squeaky.  And if I only give them to her when I can keep an eye on her, they last a couple of months.  Tuffies are made of strong industrial-strength fabric and triple-sewn for more durability.  The fabric is strong, but it is actually soft on the dog’s teeth.

Buster Food Cube
I haven’t tried this one with Maya yet but we are looking at it for Christmas.  I have heard a lot of good things about it.  It is not only durable but it is great for dogs who enjoy mental stimulation along with their play.  Simply put food in the dog toy and let your dog figure out how to get it out.  At first it may take a really long time – perhaps days.  But as your dog gets better and better at it, you can adjust the level to make it more difficult.  The Buster Food Cube would be a great toy for Maya who loves to solve puzzles as much as she loves to chew.  (Sephi, on the other hand, is not much of a thinker and will give up on this toy if she can’t figure it out within 5 minutes.)

These are just a few of the dog toys which claim to be indestructible.  The Kong is Maya’s favorite and the Kyjen Fire Hose Dog Toy is Sephi’s favorite.  Check out our new a-Store with Amazon.com for these great indestructible dog toys.  If you know of any others, please let us know.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “WANTED – Tough Indestructible Dog Toys for Christmas”

  1. Sara Says:

    Kong are great and I believe they have a money back guarantee – my westie has a Kong Flyer which we use at the beach, a fab toy. Indestructible, well I have several PetQwerks babble balls and they are great (I only give it to my dog when I’m there, as he gets so excited and twenty mins is enough to tire him out and me!) See full review (link below) of these safe dogs toys which are virtually indestructible and now have replaceable batteries, making them a good buy. Suitable as puppy toys too.

    http://hubpages.com/hub/BestsellingDogsToys

  2. Great Christmas Toys for Dogs « American Dog Blog Says:

    [...] Kong Dog Toys The Kong dog toy has lasted years. I loved the classic red Kong so much that I also bought the Kong Flier. There is not a single dent or chew mark on the Kong dog toys even though Maya plays with them all the time. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "0066cc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "f9f9f9"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "114477"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "children"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "family"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dog-fun-stuff"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dog-products"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "christmas-toys-for-dogs"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dog-toy"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dog-toys"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:EmailFacebookDiggStumbleUponTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

  3. Biteem Says:

    I forgot the name of the other indestructible toy I heard from a friend. personally, I dont leave my dog toys with them when im not around. (Im a strict mama!) I got my dog toys from biteem

  4. Mary Kittley Says:

    My GS cross not only tears his rubber balls apart he eats them too! He absolutely loves bouncing the ball and catching it again, he has a number of tricks he has worked out for himself with the ball, but I am really worried that he will damage his digestive system as he has great big lumps of rubber coming through him. I have stopped buying him balls now and I know he misses them, but what can I do?

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,112 other followers

