Cute Things Dogs Do – Part V – Play

Of all the cute things dogs do, I think that playing is the most entertaining.  And unlike singing, dancing or begging, it is not something that has to be taught.  They just do it.

I love playing with my dogs.  Both of them growl viciously when they play (Maya learned it from Sephi), but it is a play-growl not a mean one.  When Sephi plays, she turns her butt to Maya in order to keep Maya from pawing at her or mouthing her face.  Even when just Sephi and I play, Sephi uses this tactic.  It cracks me up!  Maya, on the other hand, is all in your face and she has her paws a-swingin’.  Imagine a 60+ pound dog jumping and throwing her paws high up in the air!  It’s hilarious!  No matter how many times I see Sephi and Maya play, I can’t help but to smile.  Oftentimes, I laugh until my cheeks hurt and there are tears in my eyes.

Playing fetch with Sephi and Maya is always fun too – for both them and me. Sephi is getting old now and will only fetch about 4 or 5 times.  When she is done, she lets me know by taking the toy somewhere off to the side rather than bringing it back to me. Maya won’t play fetch if Sephi is in the yard. If Sephi is in the yard and I throw the toy to Maya, she will look to see what Sephi is doing first. Because if she chases after the toy, Sephi might chase after her and that is no fun at all for Maya.

I have not had much luck playing fetch with a frisbee. Sephi won’t even try. Maya tries, but she only catches it 1 out of 15 times. Eating the frisbee is her favorite part.

What do you love about your dog’s playing techniques?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Cute Things Dogs Do – Part V – Play”

  1. raisingdaisy Says:

    Sephi and Maya sound adorable when they play! Daisy loves to play-growl – she’s only 15 pounds but she growls like she thinks she’s a Doberman. One of our favorite things is when she’s on the couch with us and sticks her nose into our hands, making this unusual loud sound (kind of like a growl without the rumble, it’s almost a loud moan but that doesn’t sound as funny as it is!). She wants to “pick a fight” – we swirl our hands around, over, and under her head and she tries to catch them. When she does, she’s very gentle! This is one of her favorite games and her contortions and sound effects make it really funny!

  2. Juliette and Dougie my Westie Says:

    When Dougie wants to play, he comes and sits in front of me and grunts to get my attention whilst staring at me with his big brownies and I throw his hoodie bear across the room, he scuttles after it, back to me with it and sits with his paw up, hoodie bear in his mouth and ready for a treat! We play football in the back garden which he loves, with a light football, just using his nose to send it flying in the air! We sometimes go to a park where boys have football practice and they let him join in! 10 mins of that and he’s sitting panting but still watching the game from the side! No luck with frisbee either.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,074 other followers

