Table Scraps May Not Be Good for Your Dog

My poor dog Maya has had a tummy ache for the past five days and it is all my fault. I gave her some of our leftover dinner and it sent her stomach in turmoil. I should know better!! I grew up with my mom always mixing table scraps with the dog’s food. In fact, Sephi ate the same stuff Maya did and did not have any issues at all. But Maya’s stomach is more sensitive than Sephi’s. I learned this a couple years ago when I had to put her on a special restricted diet for at least two weeks. But it has been two years since that incident and I have been giving her bits of healthy people food ever since. In this recent incident, however, I had forgotten that while the food was healthy it was also spicy. I should have known that the salt and pepper and other seasonings wouldn’t be good for Maya. In my effort to give her a treat, I made her sick – and believe me when I say that I feel terrible about my mistake.  :(

The good news is that Maya will be fine. She has been to the vet and her diagnosis confirmed as due to the food I gave her and not poisoning or Giardia or other parasites. She has been given medication and put on a bland diet. She is feeling a little better today, but if it wasn’t for me she wouldn’t have been feeling bad in the first place. I am so so sorry Maya!!  I have learned from this experience and I share it with you in hopes that you learn from it too. Be careful about feeding your dog table scraps. Seasonings which we use on our food may not agree with your dog. There are other people foods which are not good for your dog either. Be sure to consult your veterinarian before giving your dog any food that is not a part of your dog’s regular diet.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Table Scraps May Not Be Good for Your Dog”

  1. Juliette and Dougie my Westie Says:

    Oh Dawn, came straight here when I heard, poor Maya – I too give Dougs table scraps and leftovers – he loves mashed potatoes and chicken pie which is fine, but as you know when I gave him lamb cutlet meat and bones in April, although not spicy but because he ate all, he nearly died with severe gastro probs. Thank God Maya is going to be OK, poor baby, Dougs sends his best sloppiest licks and kisses (and they are really wet!) if it helps! Don’t be too hard on yourself, I did it too to Dougs and like you paid for it in terms of regret and sorrow…let it hopefully be a good lesson for us all and other well-meaning table scrap feeders.

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      Thanks! I’m sure Maya would love kisses from Dougie. :0)

      She is back to her old self today – I said the ‘W’ word and she got all excited and crazy, a friend came by and she jumped up and down and danced in circles, and she wolfed down her breakfast. I will see if she wants to play frisbee later today and hopefully by the Dogtoberfest this Sunday, it will be like none of it ever happened.

  2. Iowa Dog Trust Says:

    I’m glad your close call turned out OK. I had an issue several years ago. My Dalmatian was 10 yo at the time and I gave him some scraps. He got sick ALL over the house. After that … NO more ppl food for dogs.

    Thanks for posting this. I’m sure it will help others!

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,094 other followers

