Wordless Wednesday – Davinia Art

This is Davinia from the Two Little Cavaliers dog blog. I got permission from Felissa to draw her (the original photo is from one of her Wordless Wednesday blog posts). It is not finished yet. I plan on doing a finished piece in color, probably pastels.

Initial outlined sketch

Sketch with harder outlines

Sketch with eyes and nose more defined

At this point, I didn’t think it looked like Davinia. After looking at it more, I realized the nose needed to be closer to they eyes and the angles of the eyes and nose were a bit off. So I have done one more sketch so far.

Final outline sketch

This is where I am at so far. My next step is to make the final outline sketch with complete shading, a full pencil drawing. If I am satisfied with it, I will then transfer it to pastel paper and begin work in color. To keep up with my progress on Davinia, visit my artwork website, Nature by Dawn, and check out the Artwork in Progress III page. You can also check out my I and II pages. These pages show my step-by-step progress of other pieces of art that I have completed.

Visit the Two Little Cavaliers dog blog for more great articles and a link to other Wordless Wednesday posts from other great dog blogs.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Davinia Art”

  1. Hawk (@browndogcbr) Says:

    Hi Y’all,

    How y’all doin’? Just hopped by for a visit. Hope y’all are enjoying a fantastic and fun week!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  2. rumpydog Says:

    That is adorable! You’re quite talented.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 987 other followers

