Wordless Wednesday – Pet Portrait – Dougie the West Highland White Terrier

This is our friend Dougie. He is a West Highland White Terrier, or Westie. Isn’t he adorable?

Rough sketch. Notice I changed his back and tail a bit.

 

Finished sketch. I think his eyes are too far apart and not quite big enough so I make sure to correct this when I transfer the sketch to the pastel paper for the finished piece.

I traced the sketch with the big eyes closer together modification onto acid free pastel paper. Then I completed the background. This was my second attempt at a background. the first one did not come out well so I threw it away and started over.

Next I worked on the hardest, most important, and the funnest parts – they eyes and nose. If the eyes are not right when drawing people or animals, the rest of the artwork won’t look good either.

Then I did Dougie’s body and drew in his cute pink tongue.

I’m almost done!

Done!

Check out my other artwork in progress pages at Nature by Dawn.com. If you would like me to do a pet portrait of your dog or cat, email me at naturebydawn@aol.com.

For more great photos of pets, visit the Wordless Wednesday blog hop by clicking HERE.

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Pet Portrait – Dougie the West Highland White Terrier”

  1. Joanne Says:

    Hello Dawn
    That’s my boy !!! I am so happy with this, you are very talented! Just waiting now here in the UK for delivery of my dog’s portrait. Many,many thanks

  2. Lyvonne (letsbepets.com) Says:

    Adorable and lovely work!

  3. Kristin Says:

    Dougie is absolutely adorable! Beautiful work on his portrait. I’m sure it was a pleasure to do with such a great subject.

  4. Kia Says:

    Wow your work is amazing! I love it :)

  5. Long Life Cats and Dogs Says:

    stunning sketches. Just love these

  6. Flea Says:

    You make it sound so easy! Lovely.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,074 other followers

