Nearly Wordless Wednesday – Pierson’s Gotcha Day Poem

Miscellaneous Dogs 014 (sm)

Pierson’s Gotcha Day is tomorrow, January 10th. His gotcha story is HERE. In celebration of this wonderful day, I am sharing some photos of my boy. Also, Pierson has written a poem:

It was a year ago today,
When I was living as a stray.

Now a whole year has gone by,
And I am one happy guy.

Mommy caught me just before the first winter snow,
But I didn’t know her and wasn’t sure if I wanted to go.

First there was a flea and tick bath, then the vet.
Then there was another person and a dog I had never met.

At first I was really nervous and scared,
But I soon realized these people really cared.

Everyone was so gentle and kind,
I knew they would never leave me behind.

It didn’t take long to build up the trust.
Life here is so happy and just.

I get lots of love and delicious food every day.
I’ve learned snow doesn’t mean cold, it means fun to play.

Instead of garbage and sticks to chew,
I have real dog toys and meaty bones too.

Mom likes to teach me tricks and I love to learn.
I have everything now and nothing to yearn.

This is my forever home, the best place to be.
So now I celebrate, Happy Gotcha Day to me!

Pierson Sleeping 2

Maya & Pierson Sleeping (small)

Pierson Playing with Ball 1

Pierson and the Puppy Cup 1

Pierson in a Tux

We are family!

We are family!

For more Wordless Wednesday pet photos and fun, visit our other blog, Pet Auto Safety Blog. We’ll share photos of a cat named Mau and photos from the other dog blog hop participants.

Tags: , , ,

15 Responses to “Nearly Wordless Wednesday – Pierson’s Gotcha Day Poem”

  1. Oz the Terrier Says:

    Happy Gotcha Day!!!

  2. catchatcaren Says:

    That is the BEST “Gotcha Day” poem EVER!! What a wonderful doggy you are! HAPPY EARLY GOTCHA DAY! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Roxy (@RoxyTrvlingDog) Says:

    That’s awesome!! Congrats on your gotcha day.

  4. ilovecats Says:

    Love the poem. Beautiful pictures and happy gotcha day sweetie. =^..^=

  5. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom Says:

    That is such a sweet poem, Happy Gotcha Day tomorrow!

  6. SUGAR: goldenwoofss Says:

    Woof! Woof! Happy Gotcha Day! PAWsome poem. Happy WW. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  7. Clowie Says:

    Happy Gotcha Day!

  8. Ann Paws Says:

    What a sweet poem! And Pierson is so handsome!

  9. Jackie Bouchard Says:

    Great poem! Happy Gotcha Day!! How lucky you all are to have found each other. Rita’s gotcha day is fast approaching. Maybe I should start working on a poem….. :)

  10. MyBrownNewfies Says:

    What a wonderful poem! Happy Gotcha Day!

  11. rumpydog Says:

    Happy Gotcha Day Pierson! You sure are one lucky dog!

    • Dawn Says:

      Thanks Rumpy! I never heard of Gotcha Day until I read about yours. What a better idea to celebrate the date of adoption rather than guess the birthday. :)

  12. Marquie Says:

    Aw, loved the poem! Happy Gotcha Day Pierson! You are so lucky and so very, very handsome. :)

    xoxo
    Marquie, Lassie & Petal

  13. snoopys@snoopysdogblog Says:

    Hi Pierson,

    I love your gotcha poem, it’s so sweet, just like you – I’m so happy you found your forever family buddy :)

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  14. Woof Woof Mama (@WoofWoofMama) Says:

    Happy Gotcha Day Pierson! Daisy and I loved your poem!!!

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,112 other followers

