How Do We Support Animal Welfare?

Rumpy's Challenge

I’m joining Rumpydog’s Animal Welfare Challenge today to talk about how my family supports animal welfare. We do it in a number of small ways:

The biggest way that we support animal welfare is by being selective about the kinds of foods and products we buy. For instance, we only buy cage-free humanely raised chicken and eggs. If we buy other meats such as beef or pork, we carefully select by the same method as with chicken. We don’t buy cow milk, we buy almond milk. Other dairies such as cottage cheese, sour cream, etc. are a little more difficult and very expensive to get as humanely raised so we limit this stuff as much as possible.

We are also careful about the hygiene products we buy, although I am not as well educated in this matter as others might be.

It is not as easy to find dog food made from humanely raised meat. When it is more readily available and not too expensive for us, we will definitely switch.

Another way I support animal welfare is by talking about my dogs. By talking about them, where I got them and how I raise them, I am indirectly educating people about the importance of proper pet care. I do it indirectly because people don’t like it when they are told that they are doing something that might be considered wrong (or not doing as well as they could). They are more apt to listen if they are presented with information in a positive way and nothing is more positive than talking about Maya and Pierson.

When I talk about Maya and Pierson, the main question that people ask is where I got them. Maya is a purebred so I think many people assume I got her from a breeder. And Pierson is so exotic-looking that some people think he is a designer breed. Whether Maya originally came from a breeder or not is unknown. I adopted her. Whether Pierson was an attempt at a designer dog or just an accidental farm dog is also unknown. I rescued him. I have never purchased a dog in my life unless you count adoption fees.

I also talk about how I care for Maya and Pierson. They eat healthy food, they are indoor dogs, and they are trained mostly using positive reinforcement. I also brush their teeth, clip their nails, and make sure they visit the vet annually and as needed. I also have them wear their tags and they are microchipped. Oh yeah, they are also spayed and neutered.

We also support animal welfare groups such as the World Wildlife Fund, Humane Society of the United States, the ASPCA, and our local animal shelter. We will occasionally support smaller and more local groups, but as Rumpy pointed out it can sometimes be difficult to tell how much the smaller groups are really helping.

There are probably other ways that our family helps, but I can’t think of any more at the moment. Thank you, Rumpy for inviting us to this challenge. Have a wonderful Monday!

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “How Do We Support Animal Welfare?”

  1. rumpydog Says:

    Excellent! The Honest Kitchen is dehydrated food for dogs (raw alternative) that uses humanely raised or wild-caught meat in many of its options. We can’t afford to solely eat it, but we do buy it and eat occasionally.

  2. FleaByte Says:

    Maya and Pierson are such beautiful dogs. Does that make me shallow? I’m glad they have you!

  3. tita buds Says:

    There are indeed so many ways to help and it’s great how you emphasized the little everyday things that we can do and those we should consciously not do.
    You’re dogs are really beautiful. I love the expression on their faces in the picture up there. :)

  4. Monday Blues « Rumpydog Says:

    [...] American Dog Blog [...]

  5. bumpyroadtobubba Says:

    I’m loving this challenge – because we’re meeting lots of new blog friends who are also kind to the planet and our anipals! How fabulous. http://wp.me/p1m5Gv-17d

  6. BunkThePug Says:

    Hi there! I came here from Rumpy’s blog. I love some of the stuff that you are doing. I agree with you, sometimes the choice is not so easy to make. For example, when I came to my humans’ home, they did not know what on earth was the difference between a breeder and an adoption. They wanted a pug, typed up get a pug and got a pug. Even though they love me dearly and would die for me (literally!), they also say that the next time they get another pug (my brother) he would be adopted. :)

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      Hi Bunk! Thanks for stopping by. You know, great dogs come from everywhere. Your origins do not make you any less special. There is nothing wrong with buying a dog. I just want to educate people about how some breeders are very irresponsible and exploit the poor dogs just to make a fast buck. Even adoption can be troublesome. Some breeders have realized there is a big market for rescued dogs and try to pass off their puppy mill operation as an animal rescue group. It’s a sad crazy world out there, but cute dogs like you, Maya, and Pierson make it better. :)

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,117 other followers

