Wordless Wednesday – Thunderous Pet Portraits

I currently have three pet portraits going. Two are commission works and the other is one I asked to do because the photo was so inspiring. If you follow the dog blog of a three Chesapeake Bay Retrievers named after weather terminology and a large ship, then you know 2BrownDawgs.com. Go check out their site, then you will see why I was inspired to draw the following sketches:

Thunder Sketch One

Preliminary sketch of Thunder, the Chesapeake Bay Retriever.

Thunder Sketch Two

My final sketch of Thunder before attempting to draw in color. (Can you hear AC/DCs song Thunderstruck playing in the background?)

Now check out the two commission pet portraits I am working on:

Photo Deuce the Cat

This is a photo of Deuce the cat.

Deuce Sketch One

The photo was at an angle I wasn’t happy with so I adjusted the angle and drew Deuce the cat from a more face-to-face angle.

Deuce the Cat Two

The final sketch of Deuce is complete. I may need more photos to get the cat stripes right when I draw this in color.

Photo of Dog Mos 2

This is a photo of Mos, a rescued dog with a sweet face.

Mos Sketch One

The preliminary sketch of Mos.

Final Mos Sketch.

This is the almost final sketch of Mos. I have another photo of Mos I can use to draw the ears better.

For more great pet photos, check out the Wordless Wednesday blog hop link below.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Thunderous Pet Portraits”

  1. SlimDoggy (@MySlimDoggy) Says:

    I have absolutely no artistic talent whatsoever and am so envious of those who do. These are great – love the perspective a work in progress. Thanks for sharing.

  2. catchatcaren Says:

    these are just great!

  3. SUGAR: Golden Woofs Says:

    PAWSOME! Happy BlogPaws WW. Golden Woofs!

  4. Will and Eko Says:

    Great job – very cool to check out the process.

  5. 2browndawgs Says:

    Oh very very cool! I love it. Can’t wait to see it in color!

  6. MyBrownNewfies Says:

    Those are just amazing! You have a wonderful talent!

  7. This ‘N That Thursday | 2 Brown Dawgs Blog Says:

    […] could use one of my photographs of Thunder to draw a pet portrait.  Of course I was thrilled.  Check out her fabulous sketch of Thunder.  I think she captured his joy of retrieving!  I cannot wait to see the one in color, although I […]

  8. Hawk aka BrownDog Says:

    Hi Y’all!

    Hey the kitty and the rescue are priceless. Of course, I love the one of Thunder…How could I not!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  9. Misty Shores Chesapeakes Says:

    Just popped over from 2browndawgs to see the sketches, those are beautiful, I especially love Thunder ;)

  10. Clowie Says:

    They’re lovely and it’s nice to see the work in progress.

  11. JoAnn Stancer Says:

    popped in to say hi from 2browndawgs blog and to see the pictures, they are all beautiful and thunder retrieving is awesome! Great job and thanks for sharing.

  12. Coralee and Finn Says:

    Beautiful work! I’m sure the finished products will be wonderful!

  13. Joanne Says:

    great !! The first cat sketch looked a little too mean and I guess there were a few interim sketches before the final softer version – it’s interesting to see the evolution from photo to final.

    Dawn drew my Dougie, my Westie – my dog portrait is now framed and given pride of place in our Happy Dogs shop here in the UK ! Very talented lady indeed.

  14. Gizmo Says:

    Love the drawing of Thunder…make sure and post the finished one when it’s done…he’s such a handsome boy…it’s really interesting to follow the progression of the drawings

  15. Roxy the Traveling Dog Says:

    Love those!! Very nice work.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

