Wordless Wednesday – Drawing Mos the Dog

This is my second art project from my May 29th post, Thunderous Pet Portraits. I finished drawing Deuce the cat last week. And yesterday I finished drawing Mos the dog. Below are photos from my work in progress. I also filmed myself drawing this. I had hoped to make a fast-forward video of my work in progress, but I have not figured out how to use my video editor yet. Anyway, enjoy the photos for now.

Photo of Dog Mos 2

This is a photo of Mos, a rescued dog with a sweet face.

Final Mos Sketch.

This is the final sketch I completed of Mos.

Drawing Mos Step 1

Step 1: Trace sketch onto pastel paper and complete a simple background.

Drawing Mos Step 2

Step 2: Draw the eyes in detail.

Drawing Mos Eyes Close-Up

Close-up of the Eyes

Drawing Mos Step 3

Step 3: Draw the nose in detail.

Drawing Mos Close-Up Eyes and Nose

Close-up of the Eyes and Nose

Drawing Mos Step 4

Step 4: Start coloring in the face.

Drawing Mos Step 5

Step 5: More of the face is colored in. This gives me an idea of colors and shading.

Drawing Mos Step 6

Step 6: I have added more color and smoothed out the pastels on Mos’ face.

The Final Drawing of Mos the Dog

The completed work of Mos the dog. Pastels by Dawn Ross, June 25th, 2013.

What do you think of Mos? He’s adorable, right? He is my aunt’s dog. She adopted him from the humane society some years ago.

Perhaps in the next couple of weeks, I will complete the third drawing from the sketches I showed you on the Thunderous Pet Portraits post. Keep checking in!

For more great pet photos, check out the link to the Wordless Wednesday blog hop below:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Drawing Mos the Dog”

  1. Janet Roper Says:

    Wow, lovely drawing – and I enjoyed looking at the process of how it came to be. Thx for sharing!

  2. marina kanavaki Says:

    What an expression! Beautiful drawing. Eyes are so well captured! :-)

  3. FleaByte Says:

    Aw, he’s beautiful! You do nice work. The process seems to be the same as my mom’s when she’s doing colored pencil portrait art. Very nice.

  4. Caren, Dakota and Cody Says:

    absolutely incredible! Wow are you ever talented!

  5. 2browndawgs Says:

    It came out beautifully! Am waiting anxiously for that third drawing. ;)

  6. SUGAR: goldenwoofss Says:

    WOW! The hardest part to draw is the nose and you’ve done a great job, LOVE it. Lots of Golden Woof, Sugar

  7. Clowie Says:

    That’s lovely. Mos has such a cute expression!

  8. Lindsay Says:

    Great work! Yes, Mos has such a sweet face!

  9. snoopys@snoopysdogblog Says:

    Wow, that drawing of Mos is awesome and what a cute subject you had! :)

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  10. MyBrownNewfies Says:

    The eyes just really get me on all your fabulous drawings!

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,094 other followers

