Nearly Wordless Wednesday – Maya’s Owie

Maya Wearing Pawz Purple Shoe

“Do I have to wear this?”

Maya is wearing purple shoes (well, one shoe anyway) like Sugar’s. She can’t live up to the famous Sugar (from Sugar the Golden Retriever), but Maya sure loves to imitate her. Maya, however, won’t wear this purple shoe from Pawz for long. I put this on her to keep her from licking or chewing on her owie. And I can only leave it on her when I am able to keep an eye on her.

Maya Trying to Take off Purple Pawz

“Why does being in fashion have to be so uncomfortable?”

Maya’s owie started out as in insect bite. We had chiggers really bad this year. The bite should have gone away by now but Maya kept licking it and licking it. Since I’ve been having her wear the purple shoe once in a while, her owie is now healing. The following is the before photo.

Insect Bite on Dog Paw

Chigger bite plus excessive licking. Poor Maya!

For pet photos that are more fun (and painless), check out the Wordless Wednesday blog hop link below.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , , ,

27 Responses to “Nearly Wordless Wednesday – Maya’s Owie”

  1. peacelovenwhiskers Says:

    Poor Maya! Very cute shoe, I was lucky enough to meet sugar at barkworld. I love those shoes I doubt my cats would want to imitate sugar though.

  2. Michelle Liew Says:

    Oh no!

  3. The Golden Life Says:

    Aww, poor Maya! Bless her heart, that looks painful! No wonder she has been licking it! Have you tried putting some Neosporin on it? That’s my favorite go-to “owie” medicine for my three girls. In fact, as soon as I bring Callie and Shadow in from their potty break, I have to put some on Callie’s “owie”…and then put the cone around her neck to keep her from licking it off.

    • Dawn Says:

      Maya kept licking the Neosporin off so I put the purple shoe on to keep her from doing that. Her owie is healing now, so I didn’t have to try the cone of shame.

      • The Golden Life Says:

        Poor Callie’s owie is on her front right leg–about midway between the wrist & elbow–so I have no choice but to use the e-collar. I hate calling it a “cone of shame” cuz she’s so good about wearing it. 😇

      • Dawn Says:

        Poor Callie. That’s good that she doesn’t mind the cone. Maya would hate wearing it. Then again, she hated wearing the purple shoe, too.

  4. Roxy the Traveling Dog Says:

    Damn bugs, we hate bugs. The show looks great, and at least it’s helping Maya heal.

  5. Will and Eko Says:

    Healing never looked so fashionable! Hopefully with the boot Maya will get better quickly.

  6. Kuruk Says:

    Old big brother Simba had to wear shoes. He was very fashionable! Woooowooooooo

  7. Tenacious Little Terrier Says:

    Poor Maya. Hope she heals soon.

  8. marina kanavaki Says:

    Awwww, Maya it’ll heal sweetie, and purple suits you so well!!! :-)

  9. FleaByte Says:

    Owie owie! Chiggers are horrid creatures! We got into them every time we went to camp, growing up. The only way to kill them was smearing vaseline on the spot, or clear nail polish. They’re cruel things. And you have to coat the spot as soon as you see it. *sigh*

  10. Kari Neumeyer Says:

    I hope you explained to her that the purple booty is way more stylish than the alternative… a CONE.

  11. Ann "Paws" Staub Says:

    My dog used to do this to herself. They sure are a pain in the rear end to get rid of too. It’s kind of an obsessive compulsive thing in a lot of dogs. Look up “lick granuloma”. Hope she’ll leave it alone soon!

    • Dawn Says:

      I think I heard about lick granuloma from Jodi with Heart Like a Dog. That is definitely what Maya has. For treatment the vet recommended the Neosporin. It was my idea to put the purple shoe on her so she won’t lick the medicine off. She’s almost all better now. :)

  12. 2browndawgs Says:

    Ouch. We would have gotten out the cone….lol.

  13. Clowie Says:

    Poor Maya! I hope it’s all healed up soon.

  14. Dawn Says:

    I fell behind in comments so I apologize for not responding to everyone individually. Here is a reply to all… Maya is very glad I didn’t make her wear a cone. She doesn’t like the shoe either, but I think she would hate the cone more.

    This photo was taken about 10 days or so ago. You’ll be glad to know Maya’s owie it is healing nicely. It is no longer red and swollen.

  15. Marcie Says:

    Glad to hear she’s nearly all healed up!

  16. Donna and the Dogs Says:

    Oh that does look like a nasty owie. Poor Maya! Glad to see in the comments that she is doing better, and didn’t have to suffer the cone of shame. :-)

  17. weliveinaflat Says:

    I hope Maya’s paw is all better now!! That purple paws thing does come in handy huh?

  18. rubytheairedale Says:

    Oh poor Maya!! I can’t believes I missed this postie, butts Ma is tryin’ to catch up now with everyone! I’m sure glads to here your doin’ betters!
    I thinks your purple booties are just FABulous gurl!! And much more stylish than the cone-o-shame!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  19. Lindsay Says:

    I’ve used those boots on dogs for the same reason. They work pretty well. I hope Maya is back to normal soon! Itchy, sore paws are no fun.

  20. Jodi Says:

    Poor Maya!! Sampson had a lick granuloma that started out as something along those lines too. I hope it’s better soon.

  21. Emma B. Says:

    Hi – Just wanted to say thanks for sharing this – I was just looking up bug bite images on dogs legs to see if my dog had the same thing. Hers looks just like this after she licked the area too much. Hers is higher up on her leg though so if you have an idea of what I could wrap around it to stop the licking, please let me know! Thanks!!

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,122 other followers

