Nearly Wordless Wednesday – Remembering Sephi

Two years ago, I lost my beloved Sephi. Although she was aloof and was probably the most unloyal dog I’ve ever had, she was very special to me. Here’s to you, my Persphone Doodle, my Little Boo Boo, my Silly Brat Dog:

My Dog Cute Little Stinker

8 weeks old – Sephi (short for Persephone) was a cute little stinker, wasn’t she?

My Dog Sephi at 5 Months

5 months old – Sephi is a little less than halfway grown. That makes her a medium sized little stinker.

My Playful Young Pup Sephi

At just under 1 years old, Sephi was an extremely playful pup.

My Dog Sephi All Grown Up

Sephi is all grown up in this photo. I believe this photo was taken when she was about 2 years old, when she started her trend of always wearing a bandana.

Sephi Thrilled to be My Dog

Sephi is positively thrilled to be my dog. (She loved wearing bandanas, but not on her head.)

My Dog Sephi and Friend Mocha

Sephi really loved to play in her younger years. This is her playing with my sister’s dog, Mocha.

These photos are BD (Before Digital)

Memorable conversation about Sephi:
Robert – “What kind of dog do you have?”
Me – “Chow, German Shepherd, Lab, Border Co…”
Before I could finish Robert interjected, “Wow! You have all those dogs?”
Me – “Yes, but they are all rolled up into one dog.”

Do you have a best friend that you will never forget, no matter how much time goes by?

For more fun pet photos, click the link below for the Wordless Wednesday blog hop:

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 Responses to “Nearly Wordless Wednesday – Remembering Sephi”

  1. SUGAR: Golden Woofs Says:

    Precious photos to remember Sephi. Sending you Lots of Golden LOVE. Happy BlogPaws WW. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  2. Roxy the Traveling Dog Says:

    She looks like a wonderful dog. Thanks for sharing her.

  3. marina kanavaki Says:

    She’s gorgeous [I believe she is still dazzling those around her, up there!].
    Two: Rover, our American cocker spaniel with whom I grew up with and who lived 18 happy years and Igor, our prince [German shorthaired pointer] who was the ultimate representation of goodness. Lost him to cancer at 13, 8 years ago. They both stole our hearts! :-)

  4. Julianne Victoria Says:

    Simba, Ku’s big brother will always be in my heart.

  5. Callie, Shadow, and Ducky's Mom Says:

    Your Sephi was beautiful. And a handful. Maybe my Ducky is a reincarnation. :-)

    I grew up with miniature poodles — and they were all my best friends — but my own first dog was a large toy poodle, my Kissy. She was the love of my life, my little soul mate, my furry baby with a tail and four legs. She had reddish hair that turned a gold color much like my two Goldens have. She went to Heaven — where my Mom could watch over her and she could play with her “aunties” — nearly 10 years ago, but at the moment it feels like yesterday. She is always with me in my thoughts and heart. And sometimes I can see her spirit curled up on the couch or in a chair. The bond we shared during her time on Earth lives forever in my heart. Sometimes I think she’s the one who sent Ducky to me.

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      Kissy is such a cute name. She sounds like such a sweetie. Sephi was a handful in the first two years I had her, but that was because she was young. She was mostly very well-behaved in her older years. I still called her Brat Dog because she could be a little brat with other dogs.

  6. Kari Neumeyer Says:

    Beautiful girl. Thank you for allowing us to remember her with you.

  7. FleaByte Says:

    Aw, she’s beautiful! Losing a heart dog is always so difficult. And why are we often attracted to dogs that don’t love us as much as we love them?

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      LOL! Her disinterest in me, except when I had food, was quite an endearing trait. It was likely the Chow mix in her that made her very cat-like in attitude.

  8. Donna and the Dogs Says:

    Lovely photos of Sephi – thanks for sharing them. I have to say, nowadays I have more photos of my pups than I know what to do with, but in the BD days, we didn’t take all that many and I only have a scattered few of the dobe we lost, Harley. How I cherish every one of them, as I’m sure you do these.

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      I luckily have a fair number of BD photos of Sephi. Most aren’t good enough to be able to scan very well, though. In many of the scanned images, she looks like a black blob.

  9. Ann Staub Says:

    Aww what a cute baby picture! And I love her shiny black fur!

  10. Cattle Aussies~Bella, Terra, & Kronos Says:

    What a lovely name-thank you for sharing her story! Sephi was a very pretty dog, and we know in her own way she was unwaveringly loyal =)

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      She was loyal in her own way. Although she never cared for cuddling or laying at my feet, she did follow me from room to room (at her own pace, of course, so that it wouldn’t be obvious). There was also a time when she scared off an intruder. She wasn’t much of a guard dog. She’d let maintenance come into my apartment without any trouble at all. But this one time, when the danger was very real, she snarled and growled like nothing I had ever heard from her before or since.

  11. 2browndawgs Says:

    Beautiful pictures. :)

  12. mollie and alfie Says:

    Oh she’s beautiful. It was so nice to see your special baby :) xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  13. Clowie Says:

    they’re lovely photographs. Her coat was so shiny!

  14. Lindsay Says:

    Aww. I enjoyed seeing your old pics of Sephi. She was such a pretty girl. I always have a soft spot for black dogs.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 993 other followers

