Pierson’s Bark Control Collar Experience

PetSafe Bark Control Collar

I bought this bark control collar, PetSafe brand, from Petco.

I really don’t like the idea of using “shock” collars in training. I don’t necessarily disagree with the use of a static correction collar so long as they are used responsibly and not exclusively. But I just haven’t been able to bring myself to use one. At least, not until this week. On Black Friday, I gave in and bought a bark control collar for Pierson.

I’ve been trying several techniques, including these tips on how to get your dog to stop barking. But Pierson just doesn’t get it. He wants to bark and when he wants to bark nothing has been working to stop him. Since I have roommates with a three-month old baby, I realized that I’ve got to take more drastic measures. I can’t imagine what it’s like for my roommate to finally get her baby to sleep, only to have Pierson bark at a falling leaf or some other trivial sound.

Another situation where it will be important for Pierson not to bark so much will be when I move. In a year or two after I get my degree, I will likely need to relocate for a new job. And I’ve decided that I do not want to live in a house. I want to live in an apartment where someone else is responsible for maintenance and for mowing the lawn. In order not to annoy neighbors, it will be important to keep Pierson from barking so much.

Pierson Petco Antlers Why

On Black Friday, Petco was giving away free antlers. I got a pair for Pierson along with his bark control collar. Pierson usually likes getting stuff from Petco, but not this time.

So now I have a new bark control collar with six levels of static correction. It is a PetSafe brand and I bought it at Petco. A testimonial printed on the box says it helps to dramatically reduce barking by the second day. Yeah right, I thought. We’ll see about that. But believe it or not, it has really helped.

It was so funny the first time Pierson barked and got a mild static correction. The box says the static correction does not hurt the dog, but may startle them. Startle is right. He jumped straight up in the weirdest fashion. I know I shouldn’t have laughed at him, but I just couldn’t help it.

By the end of the day, Pierson was being more careful about what he barked at. He still barks at certain things, but only once or twice, three times at the most. Or he would whine or give a quiet yip instead. Such wonderful improvement compared to his usual barking fits.

I don’t necessarily recommend a bark control collar except in extreme circumstances or when all other methods fail. In fact, I feel a little guilty about resorting to it. I keep asking myself, Is this method really necessary? Am I taking a shortcut to proper training? But on the other hand, I am really enjoying the peace and quiet. And he doesn’t seem adversely affected by it. He is still his happy go-lucky boy.

Have you ever used a correction collar? Tips? Advice?

Please note, this review was not sponsored in any way. I bought this product with my own money with the only expectation that it would help curb Pierson’s barking. Sorry I don’t have a photo of Pierson wearing the collar. It is difficult to see through all his fluff.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Pierson’s Bark Control Collar Experience”

  1. raisingdaisy Says:

    I know how frustrating it is to get a dog to stop reacting – with Pierson it’s barking, with Daisy it’s whining. She’ll bark at something or someone outside, then follow it up with a long string of insistent whines that can drive a person crazy!

  2. jan Says:

    From what I have heard about these collars I would not feel the least bit guilty. It’s just a way to get the dog’s attention.

  3. Kuruk Says:

    WHewwoooo! Glad we snow pups don’t bark! Wooooowoooo!

  4. 2browndawgs Says:

    I am not a big fan of bark collars. I feel like they give a correction and the dog really doesn’t know why it is being corrected. But I know people who use them with success. One thing you may want to be mindful of is that I have heard of cases where they give a correction for no apparent reason. I am not saying that brand will do it, but I have heard of bark collars malfunctioning.

    We use our ecollar to work on barking, but it is a correction with the command “quiet”. Our problem is mostly Freighter and Storm vocalizing while they are waiting their turn to train. They can be quite loud…and annoying…lol.

    I know trainers who use bark collars on the dogs on their truck. Our trainer does not use bark collars because he doesn’t care if the dogs bark while on his truck. He will use ecollar and give a correction with quiet command if there is a dog who is just too wild and then it is almost a safety thing. You don’t want the dog to work itself up too much in that closed environment.

    Best of luck with it! Hope it solves your problem. Let us know if it worked. :)

  5. Ann Staub Says:

    I’ve never really been a fan of them, but sounds like you are using it responsibly and have a good reason too. I used to get upset when Shiner would wake the baby by barking at something. My grandparents had used one in the past with their dogs, shelties. I think it worked well for them.

  6. weliveinaflat Says:

    Sometimes, people resort to things they aren’t necessarily comfortable with because the issue urgently needs to be rectified, such as your room-mate with the baby. I guess looking forward, it’s a question of whether Pierson will revert to barking even without the bark control collar or does he have to wear it for the longer term. Good luck!

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      Thanks! :) I’m going to leave it on for a while, then stop using it and see what happens. He may need it long term because barking is so ingrained in him.

  7. Lindsay Says:

    I wouldn’t feel guilty. I’m sure because of the collar he will get to be out and about doing more fun things. I really enjoyed your post about this. It’s a difficult topic for people, and it’s good to hear different experiences.

  8. mollie and alfie Says:

    We had a bark collar for Mollie, poofs out wind. Worked a treat as she got in the habit of barking at everything. xxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  9. kirbysdawgblog Says:

    I wil be having the same problem very soon moving from a house to a apartment so kirbys barking will definitely need to stop! I will have to probably try a barking collar aswell if thats what it comes down to

  10. kirbysdawgblog Says:

    P.S- Sorry we have been gone so long, will be back up on friday this week

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,081 other followers

