Make Your Own Dog Toys

Need to stretch your budget this holiday? Or tired of buying expensive toys only to have your dog tear them up in less than 5 minutes? Your dog doesn’t care how colorful or cute his dog toys are. So why not just make your own? Here are some ideas I like to do for Maya & Pierson:

Tennis Sock Toy

I wear socks all the time. And as such, I ruin socks all the time. While they may be no good for me to wear on my feet anymore, they might still be good for Maya to play with. Maya absolutely loves the tennis sock toy.

Maya's Tennis Ball Sock Toy

Maya loves playing with a handmade tennis ball sock toy.

The first thing I do is wash the socks. I either take a tennis ball and put it inside an old sock, or I stuff the old sock with other old stocks rolled into a ball shape. I then tie a knot at the base of the tennis ball or wad of socks. And ta-da! Maya has a tennis sock toy. My friend Joanne says I should call this toy the Barkypop. What do you think? :)

Tennis Ball Sock Toy

Make this great dog toy with just a tennis ball and an old sock.

Bottle Sock Toy

With knee-high socks, you can also make a bottle sock dog toy. Just stuff the old sock with a used water or soda bottle, and tie a knot at the base. Maya would love a bottle sock toy too, but I don’t wear knee-high socks. My ankle socks are too short to stuff a bottle in.

Handmade Fleece Toys

Have an old dingy fleece blanket? Rather than just throw it away, wash it and use it to make a variety of dog toys. Cut it into strips. Take three or six strips and tie a knot on one end. Braid them together and tie a knot on the other end.

Handmade Fleece Dog Toy

This handmade fleece dog toy is made from an old fleece blanket.

You can also use four strips and tie knots, one onto the other, to make a knot toy. If you’re fancy at different kind of braids, it can be fun to experiment to see what kind of different shapes you can make.

Maya Pierson Handmade Dog Toy 1

Maya and Pierson love their new fleece dog toy.

Maya Pierson Fleece Dog Toy 2

Maya says, “I want the dog toy!” and Pierson says, “No I want it!”

If you don’t mind sewing, you can sew the fleece into cool shapes. Don’t put in any stuffing of your dog likes to de-stuff his toys. Make sure your sewing is durable. Use yarn and double-stitch.

You can use other material too, such as from old shirts or old jeans. I, personally, don’t like to use other material because of the threads. Maya can be so destructive sometimes, she eats the threads and makes colorful poop! This is a concern for the sock toys too, so her sock toys are only given to her when I can supervise.

Maya Playing with Hand Made Dog Toy

This is a handmade dog toy made by some friends of mine. It is made by tearing material into strips, then braiding and knotting them together.

Bandana Ball Toy

Maya & Pierson won some stuff from Pruven some time back. It was fantastic stuff. One of the items received was a bandana with the Pruven logo on it. Bandanas were my dog Sephi’s thing and since she has gone over the rainbow bridge, I don’t feel like passing on that torch to another dog. So I have this wonderful unused bandana that I decided to put to good use:

Handmade Dog Toys 002

Cut from the four sides of the bandana towards the ball in the center.

Handmade Dog Toys 003

Tie the opposite corners together in a knot around the tennis ball.

Handmade Dog Toys 004

A fantastic dog toy made by tying a bandana around a tennis ball.

Handmade Dog Toys 009

Maya absolutely loves the bandana ball toy.

Handmade Dog Toys 008

I mean she really loves it.

Handmade Dog Toys 007

A lot.

Handmade Dog Toys 006

Did I mention how much Maya loves the bandana ball dog toy?

Handmade Dog Toys 005

Pierson likes it too, but Maya won’t let him have it.

A quick note on washing clothes you’re going to use to make dog toys – Consider the kind of laundry soap you use. You don’t want something with a bunch of chemicals. If you’re not sure about your laundry soap, just wash without soap. Add a touch of bleach to the load to disinfect.

So that’s all my ideas for handmade dog toys. Do you make some of your dog’s toys? I’d love to hear your ideas.

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Make Your Own Dog Toys”

  1. mollieandalfie Says:

    I am so making that ball sock, it will keep her amused for 5 mins before she destroys it LOL xxooxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. Kuruk Says:

    Mama needs to make some of these! Wooooowooooo!

  3. The Golden Life Says:

    You can also use some baking soda to wash the socks, shirts, or blankets with put it in the tub, use warm or hot water, set the machine on the pre-soak cycle for a few minutes, and then wash on the normal cycle. If baking soda & hot water can get mold off the bathroom walls — and it can! — it can get clothes clean too.

  4. Will and Eko Says:

    Thanks for the suggestions. I’m definitely going to try the tennis ball sock toy this week.

  5. Dakota/Caren/Cody Says:

    love these ideas! I keep forgetting about the sock one and must do it, the bandana toys too!

  6. Ann Staub Says:

    Very cool ideas! My friend and old boss, a veterinarian, had a dog with a thing for socks. Unfortunately, I think he had about 3 surgeries in his lifetime to remove socks! I think he would hunt down stray socks and eat them. I’m glad Shiner doesn’t have a thing for socks. I bet she would just shred it up if I let her play with it.

  7. snoopys@snoopysdogblog Says:

    They’re great ideas, I think my Mum might try some! I get old stuffs the kids have outgrown and I also get plastic bottles cos I love to chew the cap off them (then I give it to mum, I don’t swallow it!)

    Have fun guys

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  8. Donna and the Dogs Says:

    Great ideas for homemade toys. Thanks for sharing them!

  9. Marcie Says:

    So many great toy ideas!

  10. 2browndawgs Says:

    Great ideas. I would have to leave out the sock toys though. I am teaching Freighter socks are off limits. He often will grab them up so fast, I worry he will swallow them. :)

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,122 other followers

