Wordless Wednesday – Drawing Zipper

Zipper was one of those very special dogs that stay in your heart forever. He was the dog that no other dog will ever compare to. As such, my friend asked that I draw Zipper for her fiancé as a gift. Here is a work in progress of Zipper:

Zipper the Dog Photo

My friend only had a few photos of Zipper to draw from. This one is a bit dark, but it was the best I could work from.

Zipper the Dog Sketch 1

First, I do some sketches. Zipper’s face isn’t quite right in this one, but the body looks right.

Zipper the Dog Head Sketch 2

Since only Zipper’s head needed to be fixed, I redrew the head. The ears are a little bigger, the face isn’t as long, and there are a couple of other subtle differences.

Zipper the Dog Final Sketch

When I felt I had all the shapes right, I did a final sketch and emailed it to my friend for her approval. She said it was perfect, so now for the next step…

Zipper the Dog Drawing 002

I trace my sketch of Zipper onto pastel paper.

Zipper the Dog Drawing 005

I always do the background of my art work first. I generally try to keep the background simple so as not to take away from the drawing of the dog. In this case, I chose green grass because I thought it would be a nice contrast to Zipper’s black and white coat.

Zipper the Dog Drawing 010

The next thing I do is the hardest, and for me, also the most fun. I draw Zipper’s eyes, nose, and mouth. Because this is not just a portrait drawing, these parts are smaller, making it difficult for me to add detail. But it came out pretty good none-the-less.

Zipper the Dog Head 001

Next, I add more detail to Zipper’s head. Trying to get the shading just right is difficult since the photo of Zipper is really dark. But knowing the shape of dog heads, I think I got this right.

More Zipper the Dog Art 06

Almost done! I’ve colored in Zippers body and begin to add shading.

Final Art Work of Zipper the Dog

Ta da! I emailed this to my friend and she absolutely loved it. She said it brought tears to her eyes. That, my friends, is one of the reasons I love to draw.

Visit the Wordless Wednesday blog hop below to see more great pics of pups and other pets:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Drawing Zipper”

  1. Donna and the Dogs Says:

    Really awesome artwork. I didn’t realize you were so talented! :-)

  2. goldenwoofs Says:

    PAWsome. Love Zipper SMILE :-) Happy BlogPaws WW. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  3. peacelovenwhiskers Says:

    Wow, that is awesome.

  4. rubytheairedale Says:

    Holy Crap!!! That is MARVELOUS!!! Ma is so jealous…..
    I bets Zipper’s peeps are just so grateful!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  5. raisingdaisy Says:

    You’re so incredibly talented. I can certainly understand why that wonderful drawing brought tears to your friend’s eyes. I wish I had even half your artistic gift. (Even my stick figure dogs don’t look like dogs!!)

  6. Roxy the Traveling Dog Says:

    I love that!! Very cute.

  7. Ann Staub Says:

    Oh my gosh I could never do something like that! You’re a great artist!

  8. snoopys@snoopysdogblog Says:

    Wow! I love to see the whole process, you’re very talented!

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  9. Sue Says:

    I, too, did not realize how talented you are! I can’t even draw a straight line with a ruler!

  10. 2browndawgs Says:

    You did a wonderful job on it. It is beautiful!

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,081 other followers

