Pierson’s 2nd Gotcha Day

Pierson at Pierson Park 1

Stray dog living at Pierson Park in Kansas City, Kansas in December-January 2012.

I WILL MISS YOU SEPHI

November 2011, my dearest Sephi crossed over the Rainbow Bridge. I still had Maya, but there was still a hole in our lives. At the request of my wise husband, we waited until after the holidays to look for a another dog. I checked PetFinder.com and put in applications to a few rescue groups. But it wasn’t until I posted something on Facebook that the perfect dog came along. Some of you may know this story already. But for those of you who do not, read on. :)

I WANT A SMART DOG

My husband said he wanted a smart dog. I’m not sure what his definition of a “smart” dog was. My honey doesn’t know much about dogs, so I’m not sure what his expectations were. Sephi wasn’t the brightest bulb on the chandelier, but she wasn’t dumb either. And she was very well behaved. At any rate, I followed his request and began looking at Border Collies, Aussies, and even a Standard Poodle.

FACEBOOK SAVES THE DAY

Border Collies were my first choice, though, and so I posted a request for information on Facebook. I wanted to know what Border Collies were really like, not just the generalized descriptions you find in breed books or online. I wanted to hear from real people. And that’s when one of my Facebook friends told me about a Border Collie mix that had been living in a park for nearly a month.

Pierson at Pierson Park 2

Luckily, this stray dog had a thick coat and we had yet to have our first winter snow.

ROAD TO RESCUE

I found out more information through a friend of a friend and drove the 40 minutes or so to the park in order to try to catch this dog. He was friendly and let me pet him, but the moment I pulled out the leash he’d run off. It took me three days to catch him, and it wasn’t even me that caught him.

BABY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE

Keep in mind, this was in January. Every day I didn’t catch him, I’d lie awake at night thinking about how cold this poor dog must be. After two days of no luck and no sleep, I was at a loss. But thankfully, within five minutes of arriving at the park on the third day, an old man showed up. He said he had been feeding the dog for about three weeks. He couldn’t catch him either and already had too many dogs of his own, so he didn’t know what else to do other than make sure this dog was fed. And animal control wouldn’t try to catch the dog either. Unless the dog was dangerous, animal control didn’t care. (By the way, if they did care, they would have taken the dog to a high-kill shelter… another reason the old man didn’t do anything more than feed the dog.)

GOTCHA!

Anyway, the dog walked right up to the old man. The dog still backed off when he saw the leash, so I asked the man to sit in the back seat of my car and try to coax the dog in. It worked. But instead of coaxing the dog in, the old man simply picked him up and put him inside!

YOU’RE FAMILY NOW

The dog was now mine. I named him Pierson after the park, and he has been a beloved member of the family ever since. That day was January 10th, 2012. I estimated him to be about a year old at the time, so today is his 2nd Gotcha Day and his 3rd birthday.

WORTH EVERY EFFORT, AND THEN SOME

Happy Gotcha Day Pierson!!! You’re the best little fuzzy boy ever and I hope you will be my little fancy pants for the next several years to come. ♥ ♥ ♥

Pierson Rescue Dog

Pierson was nervous on his first day at his new home. He wasn’t quite sure yet what to think of me and my husband or Maya.

Portrait Photo of Pierson Small

I could tell he was young by his shiny white teeth and lack of fully developed boy parts.

Me and Pierson

Pierson was still a little nervous when we had this photo taken in February 2012.

Pierson Playing with Ball 4

The Nobbly Wobbly ball is one of the first dog toys Pierson played with at our house. He has since chewed this ball to pieces.

Maya & Pierson 005

Pierson warmed up to Maya rather quickly.

Maya and Pierson 006

Pierson loves to chase and Maya loves to be chased.

Pierson Sleeping 2

As you can tell, Pierson is quite content in his forever home.

One of the first things Pierson learned at our house was how to sit and wait for dinner.

For more fun videos of Pierson, visit us at YouTube.com/NatureByDawn

Tags: , ,

22 Responses to “Pierson’s 2nd Gotcha Day”

  1. raisingdaisy Says:

    I love this story, I love everything about it. I read it before but just HAD to read it again. Happy Gotcha Day Pierson!

  2. Dakota/Caren/Cody Says:

    HAPPY HAPPY GOTCHA DAY PIERSON!! What an incredible story!!

  3. Shannon Sanders Says:

    ♥, {Hugs}, and kisses to Sephi at the Rainbow Bridge. Happy Gotcha Day to Pierson! You’re so lucky to have been saved by such a wonderful mommy.

  4. Will and Eko Says:

    Great ending to a great story! Now that is a literal GOTCHA day. Cheers!

  5. Kuruk Says:

    Pawesome story! Happy happy Gotcha Day! Woooohoooowooooooooo!

  6. jan Says:

    What a beautiful story. I love it when dogs can learn to trust humans again and be part of each other’s pack. You definitely got a smart dog.

  7. Jodi Says:

    That’s a great story Dawn! What a lucky day for Pierson, if only he’d known he would have jumped at the chance!

  8. Ann Staub Says:

    What a cool story! Sometimes, I wish our dogs could talk so we could hear their full stories. Then again, maybe it’s better left unknown! Happy Gotcha Day Pierson!

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      I sometimes wonder if he was abandoned at that park or if he just wandered off from home and found his way there. In the end, it doesn’t matter. He’s mine now! Finders keepers, losers weepers. :)

  9. ScottieMom Says:

    They listen so well! Hmm…I’ve heard that “smart dog” comment from Scottie Dad as well. Let me know if you ever figure out what that means because I sure don’t get it! What a sweet story. Happy Gotchya Day, Pierson! Much love, The Scottie Mom.

  10. somethingwagging Says:

    Happy Gotcha Day! BTW, you never told the end of the story. Is Pierson smart enough to satisfy your husband? :)

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      That’s a good question, Pamela. The dogs have certainly grown on my husband. But since he doesn’t have any other experience with dogs, I think he tends to view their flaws as things that make them less than perfect. He tends to have these ideals, not realizing how comparatively well-behaved and smart Maya and Pierson really are. It’s sort of how he views the idea of having children. He imagines these perfect little beings that he can mold and shape into perfection. But doesn’t even think about the dirty diapers, crying, temper tantrums, and other normal things that kids do. Until he’s confronted with a reality check, I don’t think he will ever truly get it. But my husband has come a long way regarding the dogs. He truly cares about their comfort and well-being. And although he doesn’t love on them like I do, he has realized the joy that petting and playing with them can bring.

  11. 25castleson25clouds Says:

    What an amazing story! Happy second Gotcha day Pierson

  12. rubytheairedale Says:

    Smart Dog??? No, you really don’t want a smart dog!!!! BOL At least that what Ma says! She wishes I was dumber. What?? Yeah, that is what she said! Whatevers. I thinks you and your husband hit the JACKPOT when you found Pierson! I loves that story! I can’t believe I never heard it befores.
    Oh, and I do the sit and wait for foodables too..and I also do the ‘lean forward but don’t move’ move! So cute!
    Happy Happy Gotcha Day!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  13. mollie and alfie Says:

    Happy Birthday Pierson, and I am a Border Collie, I am nuts, highly strung and can chase a ball for 87.000 hours and still run some more. I am scared of my own shadow, I am not keen on strangers and Children are off the menu. i am loving and super cuddly to the people I know :) BOL xxxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  14. Donna O. Says:

    Happy 2nd Gotcha Day Pierson! What a great rescue story! :-)

  15. 2browndawgs Says:

    What a great story! Happy gotcha day Pierson!

  16. weliveinaflat Says:

    Happy belated gotcha day, Pierson and Dawn! :)

  17. Love you like a Scottie! | Scottie Mom Says:

    […] As you can see, Pierson from American Dog Blog is no Scottie but you bet he has a love story that will fill your heart with the good stuff! He lived as a stray in Pierson Park, Kansas City before his Border Collie Mix Mom found him. She came back to the park three days in a row to try to convince sweet Pierson to come home with her. Finally, on the third day, an older gentleman came and told her he had been feeding Pierson for about three weeks. Together Pierson’s Mom and the older man coaxed Pierson to get closer to the car where the older man scooped Pierson up in his arms and sent him on the ride of his life…to his forever home! To read Pierson’s full gotcha story, click here. […]

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 993 other followers

