Scoop That Poop at the Dog Park

Scoop That Poop Logo

We’ve had unusual weather here lately, as I imagine most of you have as well. One day it is below zero and the next it is light jacket weather. Well, I took full advantage of one of those nicer days by taking Maya to the dog park. We hadn’t been since before the holiday, so it was nice to be able to go again. Most of our visit was nice, anyway…

I don’t understand why so many people still don’t pick up after their dog, despite all the signs and the free dog poop bags! I guess they see that one person was too lazy to pick up after their dog and so they assume it is okay they don’t either.

It’s not okay. I feel that in a dog park, it is even less okay. After all, some dogs visiting the park might be carrying harmful bacteria, a virus, or they might have worms. Yuck! :p I don’t want Maya to get sick. Nor do I want her to accidentally step in some and track it in my car. She could also bring it home to Pierson.

"Don't be a turd. Scoop that poop."

“Don’t be a turd. Scoop that poop.”

I have to admit our dog park is not as bad as it used to be. When I first moved to this town, the park didn’t have any signs or any dog poop bags. So someone is making an effort. I also believe volunteers come by from time to time to scoop. Perhaps I should get on that volunteer list. Or I could just go out there and do it. I have a great poop scooper called Scoopy the Poo.

Scoopy-the-Poo Dog Poop Scooper

I have this except in red.

Do you think people who see me scoop that poop will realize perhaps they should pick up after their dog? Or do you think they will figure that since someone else will scoop it, they don’t have to? I have a feeling many people will think the later. Perhaps I need to wear a vest saying, “VOLUNTEER”. What do you all think?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Scoop That Poop at the Dog Park”

  1. weliveinaflat Says:

    I guess the more visible that people are picking up poop, the more it will seem like the norm to pick up poop. But of course, there will be some people who dislike and will not pick them out. Hopefully they are not too many.

  2. Oz the Terrier Says:

    I think even if you wear a vest that says “Volunteer” people will assume that volunteers come and ScoopThatPoop…so they won’t have to. It is a vicious circle if you ask me. People should just be considerate and scoop in the first place.
    Oz

  3. Lindsay Says:

    I think some people just truly don’t care. Probably the types who don’t visit the park often and are just passing through. I think regulars to any dog park are pretty good about picking up. Do you agree?

    Of course, there are times when I truly may not notice my dog has pooped at the dog park if I look away for 20 seconds. And sometimes I seriously can’t find it! I guess when you take into account everyone might do that once in awhile, that’s a lot of poop! Yuck.

    It’s bad enough to step in your own dog’s poop, but stepping in some random dog’s poop is about the worst!

  4. The Golden Life Says:

    I agree with Oz, 100% … “people should just be considerate and scoop in the first place.”

    What REALLY annoys me are the humans who allow their dog(s) to poop on the walking/cycling paths and then leave it there for every one else to step in (or ride over with their bicycle tires)! I can almost tolerate the ones who leave the dog’s poop in the grass, especially if there’s no garbage can in site. But I’d like to give them an “accidentally-on-purpose” shove so they step in it themselves and have it get caught in between all the grooves on the soles of their shoes!!!

  5. raisingdaisy Says:

    Oh, it drives me crazy when people don’t pick up after their dogs! What makes me even crazier (as if I need that! LOL) is the people who are too lazy to walk their dogs and just let them run loose in the neighborhood, pooping wherever they want. I guess they don’t worry about their dogs getting hit by a car, either. Those people don’t deserve to have dogs!

  6. jan Says:

    I’ve noticed that people are scooping more than they used to. I think a lot of people just think that since no one scoops squirrel or rabbit poop, their dog poop is just a natural part of the environment. They need education.

  7. Ann Staub Says:

    I think by setting a good example, you’re helping get the message across. Maybe some people honestly don’t realize that it’s an issue. Which is why we are here blogging. I’m sure there are a lot of people out there who just think it’s not important.

  8. Golden Woofs: Sugar Says:

    It is terrible, such irresponsible dog owner. It’s happening everywhere and mostly on dog parks/run. We avoid going on those ares/parks. One thing you can do is report to your city/town or have signs on those parks for fines. Golden Thanks for sharing and joining our #ScoopThatPoop. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  9. Dana Baca Says:

    That’s a great idea! It may inspire others.

  10. mollie and alfie Says:

    Mom trod in poop the other day, Boy was she mad. We always scoop n poop. xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  11. 2browndawgs Says:

    That is another thing I do not like about dog parks. Dogs confined and if people don’t scoop it is not a good thing. At the dog show this past weekend, you can’t believe how many people just left poop (or pee) if their dog happened to have an accident. They have people who will clean it up, but you have to let them know…not just leave it. I also saw people cleaning up after their dogs, but for the “special” people who don’t…poo on them.

  12. Sand Spring Chesapeakes Says:

    I think they will think the person scooping can do it all.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,112 other followers

