The Rest of Pierson’s Gotcha Story – Part I

Pierson at Pierson Park 1

Stray dog living at Pierson Park in Kansas City, Kansas in December-January 2012.

On January 10th, Pierson’s official Gotcha Day, I told you about how he was finally caught after living in a park as a stray for nearly a month. But his adventure didn’t stop there. Coming into a strange new home took some adjustment. So let me tell you the rest of Pierson’s story.

Take Him to the Shelter?
When we first started trying to catch this stray dog, my husband didn’t think it would be a good idea to take in a stray. He was worried about bringing in a dog with unknown behaviors and unknown diseases. He suggested that if we catch this dog, we should take him to the humane society, let him go through the adoption process, and then adopt him. There are some no-kill shelters in the Kansas City area, so it was not an unreasonable request. Also, considering he was a stray, it would give his previous owners a chance to claim him.

Pierson Playing with Toy 001

The day Pierson first felt comfortable enough to play in his new home.

No, I want to Keep Him
But when I finally got Pierson in the car, I did not want to take him to the shelter. So on the 40 minute drive home, I began to think of reasons why we should just keep him. For one, it was unlikely he would be claimed. He had no collar and already been living in the park for three weeks. And an officer who had also been trying to catch him said she called local shelters and no one had reported a dog of his description as missing.

Prepared to Beg
When I got him home, I introduced Pierson to Maya. He didn’t like her, but at least he didn’t outright attack her. There was hope. So I called my husband at work, prepared to present my argument about why we should keep him rather than let him go to the shelter first. To my surprise, it didn’t take much to convince him. All I had to do was give Pierson a bath and take him to the vet.

Maya and Pierson 006

Pierson loves to chase and Maya loves to be chased.

Fleas and Ticks
I took Pierson to Pawsh Wash, a doggie boutique with half of the store dedicated to grooming. I could pay someone to bathe Pierson, or I could pay a smaller fee and use their facilities to bathe him myself. I opted for the later. Pierson was so well behaved during his bath! I must have been there for an hour-and-a-half combing him, bathing him, and pulling out all the ticks. One of the staff at Pawsh Wash helped me even though I had opted to not to pay for the full grooming service. I believe it was Chelsea who helped me. One of the other staff members helped me pick out a good nutritious food for Pierson. Chelsea and all the Pawsh Wash staff are PAWSOME!

Vet
Next stop was the vet’s office. It was an easy visit. Except for the fact you could feel his ribs, there were no visible signs of illness. Blood work was done and vaccines were given.

Maya & Pierson 005

Pierson warmed up to Maya rather quickly.

Smart Dog?
Remember the post on the 10th of this month where I told you we got Pierson because my husband said he wanted a smart dog? Someone asked if my husband was satisfied with Pierson’s intelligence. My husband has very little experience with dogs, so he didn’t really know what he meant by a smart dog. But he is very happy with Pierson, despite a few mishaps. What mishaps, you ask? Come back for Part 2 tomorrow where I tell you about Pierson’s emergency room visit three days after we brought him home.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “The Rest of Pierson’s Gotcha Story – Part I”

  1. 25castleson25clouds Says:

    I loved part one and can’t wait to read part two!!

  2. raisingdaisy Says:

    I’m loving this story! It sounds like Pierson (love how he got his name) trusted you from the start – many strays wouldn’t have tolerated the Big Bath, the vet, or even being carted around. Seems to me like you both had good instincts. :)

  3. dogleadermysteries Says:

    Such a charming storytelling style you have, I like your asides, letting readers know you had other plans or desires. I want Part II. Do I have to wait for a whole week?

  4. Jodi Says:

    I love that you named him after the Park he was found in~Lucky dog.

  5. jan Says:

    I’m glad you didn’t take him to a shelter. It sounds like you had a bond with him as soon as he got in the car. And the shelters sometimes lose track of the dogs they take in or don’t give them a chance.

    • Nature by Dawn Says:

      Another part of this story is that there were actually two dogs living at that park. I caught the other one on the second day and took him to the humane society in my town because I knew he’d have a much better chance there. I kept an eye on him and he was quickly adopted.

  6. 2browndawgs Says:

    I bet picking out the ticks was no fun. Anxious to read the next part.

  7. Clowie Says:

    He coped with a lot for a stray on that first day. He looks happy now.

  8. ScottieMom Says:

    Love this story. You’re a great mom! Can’t wait to read part two. Much love, The Scottie Mom.

  9. Lindsay Says:

    I always have my eyes open for stray dogs, but I never seem to find them. I’m jealous that this awesome, beautiful dog just walked into your life. OK, not really, it sounds like it was not easy to catch him! But you know what I mean.

    I’m glad everything worked out and that he and Maya are good friends now.

  10. dogleadermysteries Says:

    Reblogged this on Dog Leader Mysteries and commented:
    A wild and wonderful story of dog rescue, a huge Vet bill and a happy dog adoption tale. Yes, tails are wagging on the American Dog Blog. Please go and read it.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,074 other followers

