The Rest of Pierson’s Gotcha Story – Part 2

Pierson Playing with Ball 1

The Wobbly Nobbly dog toy ball was one of Pierson’s favorite toys, until he chewed it to pieces.

In Part 1 of Pierson’s story, I told you how I convinced my husband to let us keep a stray and about how he had to be treated for fleas and ticks at Pawsh Wash. Today, I’m going to tell you about a very expensive mishap that occurred after only three days of having Pierson in our home.

Crate Training Disaster
Pierson did very well on his first night in the crate. The second night was a very different story. Pierson not only cried, he also fought his way out and actually succeeded. I think he did some damage to his nose in the process because the next afternoon he had a terrible bloody nose. I suspect he bruised his nose while trying to escape the crate and the heater on in the house made a blood vessel burst the following day.

Pierson Watching the Rain 1

Pierson is wishing it would stop raining so he can go outside and play. This photo was taken after he lost his thick winter coat.

Second Vet Visit and Emergency Hospital
I took him to our vet in town. They couldn’t do anything so they sent me to the emergency vet, Blue Pearl. Blue pearl is a 45 minute drive. I can’t even begin to tell you how terrible the back seat of my car looked after Pierson sneezed blood all over it! Thank goodness for Oxyclean.

We Can Put Him Down
When I brought Pierson in to Blue Pearl and told the staff I just got this dog and how I got him, they assumed I wouldn’t want to pay for his treatment. I imagine it happens often where people bring in a stray animal that is ill or injured and just want the dog taken care of but don’t want to pay for it. It’s reasonable to want to help a stray animal but not be able to afford emergency medical care. Emergency vets are expensive. But I had made a commitment. When they hinted they could put Pierson to sleep, I made my position clear. No way! Do what you can, I told them.

Pierson with Legs Out

Frog Dog – I’ve had many dogs in my life but I do not ever recall having a dog that could do this with his legs.

Recovery and Reunion
They couldn’t stop the bleeding with a cold compress or by putting gauze up Pierson’s nose so he ended up having to stay overnight. When I went to get him the next day, I paid $800+ and was rewarded with Pierson being very happy to see me. He had been very shy the first three days at our house, so this warm welcome was very heartwarming. Yes, I cried.

Fitting In
Every day brought Pierson closer to me and my husband and to Maya. He learned his name very quickly. His shyness with us slowly wore off and the real dog began to blossom. He learned to play with Maya and he learned to play with us. He came housebroken, which was bonus! As he got more comfortable, though, bad habits became evident. But those are other stories and already told in previous posts.

Maya & Pierson Sleeping on Dog Bed

Maya and Pierson are often found sharing the same dog bed, even though I have one for each.

There you have it, the rest of Pierson’s Gotcha story; told in full detail.

Tags: , , ,

22 Responses to “The Rest of Pierson’s Gotcha Story – Part 2”

  1. Jody Miller-Young Says:

    I just love Pierson’s story. And Blue Pearl is great. Where are you? The Blue Pearl we go to is in NYC on W 55th Street. Dr Rocha is my kitty Isabel’s oncologist and he is amazingly wonderful. Yes, it is very expensive, but the level of expertise and care is really phenomenal. Thanks for sharing your story!

    • Nature by Dawn Says:

      We are in Kansas so the Blue Pearl we’ve gone to is in Overland Park, KS. Blue Pearl has several locations in the midwest and east coast. They are great. I took Sephi there when she was really ill and they were very supportive.

  2. weliveinaflat Says:

    I have often wondered if it is more common for male dogs to do that frog dog thing. :P Pierson looks really cuddly with Maya!! And he looks like a small puppy in the first picture, but I guess he is actually not, since he manage to break out of the crate?

  3. Kuruk Says:

    We are so proud of you Pierson! Wooooowoooooo!

  4. Jodi Says:

    He’s a lucky dog that Pierson, what a great story!

  5. Lindsay Says:

    Oh how sad that they offered to put him down. I guess that is the reality sometimes. I’m so glad Pierson has a safe, happy home where he’s loved and cared for. What a good boy.

  6. Ann Staub Says:

    Oh my gosh! Pierson is such a lucky pup :) You are right about the vet’s offer… many people aren’t willing to pay for a stray’s care, nor do they understand that they can’t just leave the dog with the vet forever. I am sure that they were so pleased to see a committed person like you!

  7. 25castleson25clouds Says:

    A lovely story and Mity does frog legs too!

  8. mollie and alfie Says:

    That was lovely, Pierson is so lucky to have such a wonderful Mommy. Wow that was a huge expense but he sure is worth it. I thought the vet might of helped out as he was a stray and you were offering him a home xxxxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  9. rubytheairedale Says:

    Oh dude, nice job with the backseat of the car!!! BOL
    Your so very lucky, both of you, to have found each other! I loves your story!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  10. raisingdaisy Says:

    This is such a heartwarming, wonderful story! I gasped and teared up through it. I can just imagine how bad your back seat looked after Pierson sneezed blood all over it – good thing you didn’t get pulled over for any traffic violation, the police would have thought you killed someone! LOL ;) Pierson is SO lucky you found him. I love that last photo of Pierson and Maya together – so precious! Thanks so much for sharing this story.

  11. The Golden Life Says:

    You should send your story to Lisa over at DogsnPawz — she’s working on a book of stories of our — the blogging community — rescue dogs.

  12. 2browndawgs Says:

    What a fabulous story. I am so glad there was a happy ending! I would have never thought a crate could do that damage.

  13. Chloe Smith Says:

    Great story! I read both part 1 and 2 of Pierson’s story. It’s a good thing that you took him home with you. I’m sure he could use all the love your family can give him.

  14. dogleadermysteries Says:

    Hi Dawn,

    I love Pierson’s Story, Part I & Part 2. What a way to get a dog! My Keeshond, Dawn, although she had been returned to her family and ethical breeder three times in her first year of life, we found her through word of mouth.

    Turned out she was not crate trained, either, and we had a lame girl for a week, plus a Vet bill (though not as HUGE as your Vet bill). She had been sleeping with her pet parents on their king-sized bed along with, get this for a princess dog, her papa and mama dog.

    Even with paying for a dog, people can get loads of sudden Vet visits.

    I’m so glad you rescued Pierson. What a love of a dog.

    Deborah

    PS. I fell ill so I so glad you comment and correct my last post, it is down. I usually do my research with three to five sources, this time I just made a very wrong guess. Thanks for having my blog’s back.

    • Nature by Dawn Says:

      Thanks, Deborah! :) I hope you didn’t take my comment on your post personally. I completely understand the misunderstanding. Not only are well often pressed for time when it comes to researching and writing a post, but life gets in the way too. I hope you’re feeling better. This cold weather doesn’t help any.

      I don’t think I remember reading about your Keeshond. Was she from before Sydney or is she a new family member?

      • dogleadermysteries Says:

        No problem, Dawn. I felt grateful you commented. I like feeling my editor, Marc Hoffman, and a few good writers like you, have my writer’s back.

        When I did watch Puppy Bowl, I didn’t see more that two mixed breeds, and zero mutts. Did you watch it? I would like to know what you thought.

      • dogleadermysteries Says:

        Our Keeshond Dawn has long left this world. I should make several of my posts into pages. Dawn and Nabisco were quite the pair of joyful clowns. They though all small dogs were puppies.

      • Nature by Dawn Says:

        I counted 22 mixed dogs out of 39 – http://www.animalplanet.com/tv-shows/puppy-bowl/photos/x-starting-lineup.htm I think the confusion might have been with the commentator’s introduction of the dogs. I don’t think he ever said the word “mix” or “mutt” Even the purebred ones, though, were all up for adoption and not for sale. And they came from shelters and rescue groups all over the United States.

        Funny that your Keeshond was named Dawn! :) After Sephi passed on, we put in an application to a Keeshond rescue group. Unfortunately, they never replied. Fortunately, I found Pierson.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,081 other followers

