Solo is Reunited with My Mom!

Dog Solo Sitting

Sweet Solo is happily reunited with my mom and stepdad.

On the 10th, I told you about how my mom and stepdad moved to Oregon and how my stepdad had to leave their dog Solo behind in Missouri because they got the wrong kind of crate for flying. Luckily, a neighbor was able to take Solo back to the house. And for the past 10 days, Solo has been living all alone on en enclosed patio of an empty house with the neighbor coming by a few times a day to care for her.

People go on vacation without their dogs all the time and pay for pet sitters or boarding kennels. But like my mom and stepdad, I couldn’t help but think about how lonely and confused poor Solo must be. It was a less than ideal situation. But at least she was cared for. And at least she was in a place where she’s comfortable.

Well, I’m happy to say that Solo is finally reunited with my mom and stepdad in Oregon. One of their friend’s/neighbor’s bought an airline approved crate and another friend/neighbor took Solo to the vet to renew the health certificate. And that same neighbor took Solo to the airport, two hours away, and sent Solo on her way.

I wish I had still been in Oregon so I could have seen the reunion. I can only imagine how happy Solo was to see them. I have no doubt that she whined and cried with excitement. And I can imagine that both my mom and stepdad had tears in their eyes when they finally got to hug her. And I bet you there were a few other onlookers at the airport who saw the reunion and got teary-eyed as well. As far as I know, no one took photos or recorded the union. That would have been awesome to see.

My mom and stepdad called me last night to tell me the news. Yes, my eyes got a little teary. But I was so relieved. And even though my mom has been in good spirits despite the terminal cancer, I bet she is in an even better mood now that she has her dog back.

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Solo is Reunited with My Mom!”

  1. raisingdaisy Says:

    I’m teary-eyed as well! I’m so happy this worked out so well. I was wondering how things were going. What a blessing you and your parents’ friends/neighbors have been through all this. I’m sure Solo is sending you big doggy-kisses. :)

  2. Lindsay Says:

    Oh thank goodness! What a relief for everyone, I’m sure. So glad Solo made it there safely. Talk about stressful!

  3. peacelovenwhiskers Says:

    That is wonderful news! Glad she’s home and safe.

  4. Jan K Says:

    That is awesome news! What wonderful friends your Mom and stepdad have that helped them out, and I know you did all you could too. I bet that was one happy reunion, and it will be good for your Mom to not have to worry anymore.

  5. jan Says:

    We love happy endings and this was such a good one.

  6. 2browndawgs Says:

    That is wonderful news. Three cheers for the neighbors for helping with the trip!

  7. Clowie Says:

    I’m happy it all worked out. It must have been confusing for Solo, but how lovely of people to help out like that!

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,130 other followers

