A Few Words About Drawing Rocky for Wordless Wednesday

Just before my mom was diagnosed with brain cancer, her dog Rocky passed away in his sleep. My mom really loved Rocky and wanted to have him memorialized with art. And not just art from anyone. She wanted me to draw him. :)

Portrait of Rocky the Dog

It really helps me to draw a dog if I have a great photo, and my mom had the perfect one of Rocky.

Third Sketch of Rocky the Dog

It took a few sketches to get the proportions of Rocky right.

Drawing Rocky the Dog Step 1

I traced the sketch onto acid free pastel paper. As always, the first color I added was to the eyes and nose using pastel pencils.

Drawing Rocky the Dog Step 2

The next part was coloring Rocky’s open mouth. This was actually far more difficult that I first thought it would be.

Drawing Rocky the Dog Step 3

Drawing Rocky the Dog Step 4

Drawing Rocky the Dog Step 5

I’m almost done!

Drawing of Rocky the Dog - Pastel

The final touches were adding Rocky’s whiskers (which is something I almost always forget) and adding texture to his long neck fur. This photo is actually a little dark compared to the original. Imagine the fur as white as in the previous image.

I was lucky enough to be able to complete this drawing while my mom was visiting me (which was just before I moved to Iowa). She was able to watch me draw and got to see me finish it. And I am proud to say that she absolutely loved it!

For more great pet photos, check out the Wordless Wednesday blog hop link below:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “A Few Words About Drawing Rocky for Wordless Wednesday”

  1. Dakota/Caren/Cody Says:

    I draw and I know how difficult it is to draw animals. You did an amazing job. I am sure your Mom cherished that beautiful gift and how wonderful that she was able to watch the process and enjoy it. Sending you ((((hugs)))

  2. Mary Says:

    That is fantastic! Great likeness.

  3. Donna O. Says:

    You are just an amazing artist, thanks for sharing the process with us. Love that your mom was able to watch you work on something you are so passionate about.

  4. MyDogLikes Says:

    Beautiful! We hope to get a portrait of our pups someday!

  5. Talent Hounds Says:

    Cool to see the process!

  6. It's Dog or Nothing Says:

    This is an absolutely beautiful portrait.

  7. rubytheairedale Says:

    HOLY COW PATTIES!!! That is BEAUTIFULS!!!! I am in awe of your most FABulous talent!!! Rocky sure was a beautiful dude ~ he sure lives on in your portrait.
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  8. rumpydog Says:

    Wow, I didn’t realize you were so talented. That was fantastic, and a great way to memorialize Rocky. How is your mom doing?

  9. 2 Brown Dawgs Says:

    Very nice. I bet your mom loved it!

  10. weliveinaflat Says:

    Awesome drawing!! How nice your mom got to see it drawn every step of the way! :)

  11. dogleadermysteries Says:

    Dawn, I love your drawing. Plus I love that you shared the stages of the drawing with your mom and with us.

Bark at Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

