Tips For Helping Dogs Scared of Thunderstorms

My eight-year-old dog, Sephi, has always been scared of thunderstorms.  So what do you do when your dog is scared of thunderstorms?  There is no cure-all but some of the tips listed on this site might help:

http://allthingsdogblog.blogspot.com/2009/10/ask-vet-thunderstorm-fears.html

I can attest that a couple of these has helped Sephi.  She is not cured, but she doesn’t get quite as scared as she used to.  Instead of comforting her when she gets scared, I go about my normal business, whether it is reading a book by myself or playing with the dogs.  If a thunderstorm was going on and Sephi went to hide in the bathroom, I let her stay where she felt safe and sometimes I would turn on the bathroom vent.

Bark at Us

