Happy Father’s Day From Your Best Friend

Thank you for everything that you do for me.
For taking me for walks so I can mark every tree.

Thank you for sneaking me your dinner scraps when mom isn’t looking.
For letting me taste some of your barbecued cooking.

Thank you for playing fetch with me and taking me to the park.
For not being too mad at me when I bark.

Thank you for letting me on the couch when mom isn’t home.
For giving me treats and sometimes a bone.

Thank you for rubbing my belly and scratching me behind the ears.
For soothing me during thunderstorms to calm my fears.

Thank you for giving me a challenge when we play tug-of-war.
For playing with me until I am too tired to want more.

Thank you for being patient with me when I have been bad.
For letting me put my head on your lap you when you are sad.

Thank you for the nice warm bed and the loving home.
It’s for you that I wrote this little poem.

Thank you for being such a wonderful Father to me.
I will make sure you have Happy Father’s Day, you’ll see.

Happy Father’s Day!! – from your best friend.

by Dawn Ross
© Copyright June 20, 2010

Bark at Us

