Go Hiking, Get a Backpack for Dogs, and Take Your Dog

Backpack for Dogs

Maya Wearing a Backpack for Dogs

In my younger years, I loved to go on long hiking trips.  The Barton Creek Greenbelt in Austin, Texas was great for everyday nature hiking.  But once in a while I would take longer hiking trips.  My Labrador/Border Collie mix, Smokey (the black dog pictured below), was my constant companion on those trips.

Smokey

In Memory of Smokey

One great hiking trip was in Sedona, Arizona.  But the most memorable of our hiking trips together was at Georgetown Lake in Georgetown, Texas.  Smokey and I spent several days surrounded almost completely by pure wilderness as we hiked around the lake.  Since we were far away from any amenities like fresh water, food, or shelters, Smokey and I had to carry all our own stuff.  Since food and water is heavy, I really didn’t want to carry it all by myself.  So I found a backpack for dogs so that Smokey could carry some.

The backpack for dogs was a brand called Caribou which I can’t find anymore.  I still have it and Maya is wearing it in the photo above.  This backpack for dogs was perfect.  It fits the dogs very well.  It has a chest strap to keep it from sliding off.  The top is netted with pouches on the side to provide a comfortable balance.  And since I still have it after all these years, this backpack for dogs is obviously well-made.

Other great brands of backpacks for dogs include Kurgo and Outward Hound.  Kurgo has the highest quality brand of backpacks for dogs, but Outward Hound is pretty darned good for the money (pictured below).  My only concern about backpacks for dogs was that I needed to keep Smokey out of the water when he wore it – very difficult when hiking around a lake.

If you and your dog love the outdoors, consider a long hiking trip.  And consider a backpack for dogs so he can carry his own things.  Have him wear it around the house for a bit – supervised of course.  Praise and play with him while he is wearing his backpack for dogs.  And in no time at all, your dog will love his backpack.  Smokey loved his.

Outward Hound Backpacks for Dogs

Outward Hound Backpacks for Dogs

Tags:

2 Responses to “Go Hiking, Get a Backpack for Dogs, and Take Your Dog”

  1. Juliette Says:

    Hi yes dog backpacks are great – even my little westie has a small one for carrying treats, poopy bags and a small supply of fresh chicken in foil when we go through the woods hiking. We have Outward Hound too! Someone should make a waterproof one out of neoprene or the same fabric as doggy life jackets?

  2. Jessie Says:

    My dogs love to go hiking, although not so much that they would need their own backpacks. 🙂

Bark at Us

