Top 10 Things My Dogs Do to Make me Smile

Every day is a joy with Maya & Pierson. And it’s the little things they do that bring it. In no particular order, here are a few of the cute things they do:

1. The breakfast dance and howl – Maya sit and stay while I fill up their food bowls. But before we get to the sit command, there is the dance. Pierson sometimes adds a cute howl, too.

2. Random spin – This is the very first thing they do when it comes to breakfast, dinner, or treats. I don’t even need to say ‘spin’ or ‘turn around’ any more. Ever since I taught them this trick, they do it automatically when they know its eating time.

Yay! Maya & Pierson have mastered synchronized spinning!

Yay! Maya & Pierson have mastered synchronized spinning!

3. Play – Playing with them or Maya and Pierson playing with each other is very entertaining. There is nothing especially cute about the way they play. They play like any other dogs. But when I see them having so much fun, I can’t help but to be happy too.

Dogs Playing in Sprinkler

At first, Pierson was afraid of the sprinkler. But after seeing Maya have so much fun in it, he decided to get in on the action.

4. Cuddle – My dogs aren’t allowed on the furniture. So cuddle time is extra special. Maya is an especially good cuddler.

Maya and I on Porch Swing

Maya and I enjoy cuddle time on the porch swing.

5. Sleep on their backs – It’s so funny how Maya and Pierson can sleep in such odd positions on their back. It makes me laugh every time.

Lab Sleeping on Back

Maya really loves to sleep on her back.

Pierson Sleeping on his Back

Pierson loves to sleep on his back up against this wall.

6. Eagerness to learn cute dog tricks – Teaching Maya and Pierson tricks is so much fun because they are so eager. The attentive looks on their faces as I hold the treat and get ready to give a command is priceless.

Dog Tricks for Treats

Maya & Pierson love doing dog tricks for treats.

7. Maya’s heavy sigh – Actually, it’s more like a sigh and grunt combined. I can’t even describe it properly, but it’s cute.

8. Lay at my feet – Both Maya and Pierson want to lay under my desk when I work. It’s funny when they try to compete for the spot.

9. Maya when she gets excited – Maya got a compliment the other day. Someone told me, “That has got to be the happiest dog I have ever seen.” And it’s true. Maya is always up for an adventure and it shows on her face, in the way she walks, and in the way she whines with excitement.

10. Pierson’s fuzzy feet – The hair between Pierson’s toes stick up and make his feet look oddly shaped. They make me laugh every time. And it’s not just Pierson’s fuzzy feet, it’s all Maya & Pierson’s doggy parts. It’s the way Maya’s lip sometimes curls, the way she investigates everything with her brown nose, the way her ears flop around when she runs. It’s the way Pierson carries his tail when he walks (or prances), the way his eyes seem to lighten when he looks at me, the way his fluffy butt looks like big gray bloomers, and the way his body is white with black spots while his legs are black with white spots.

Pierson's Fuzzy Feet

I did share this photo before, but I couldn’t resist sharing the photo of Pierson’s cute fuzzy spotted feet again.

What cute things does your best friend do to make you smile?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Top 10 Things My Dogs Do to Make me Smile”

  1. rumpydog Says:

    DeDe has a breakfast dance! She looks like she’s tapping!

    • ILoveDogs Says:

      Sephi used to do that too! She’d tap dance backwards and ‘talk’ at the same time. I sure wish I had caught that on video before she passed on.

  2. Julianne Victoria Says:

    Awesome breakfast dance! Woooowooooo! Ku

  3. Hawk aka BrownDog Says:

    Hi Y’all!

    We LOVE to make our Humans smile and we’re happy if y’all are happy!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  4. catchatcaren Says:

    Personally I am a fan of the “random spin” the “sigh” and the “laying at my feet!”

  5. Marcie Says:

    Synchronized spinning, now that’s impressive! (and surely a future Olympic sport) 🙂

  6. 2browndawgs Says:

    Cute post. Love the spinning picture. Freighter roo’s when he wants something and that makes me smile. 🙂

  7. Long Life Cats and Dogs Says:

    What a gorgeous list. I’m with you, watching dogs play will always bring a smile to my face.

  8. Roxy the traveling dog Says:

    Those are all great. I love the spinning, how cute!

  9. kirbysdawgblog Says:

    My favortie is Pierson’s fuzzy feet and the spin! How did you get that excellent shot, its almost like the rehearsed it together!!!

  10. usoncloud9 Says:

    I love it when Beamer sleeps on his back, too. It’s totally adorable. Your dogs do some pretty cute things. No doubt they would make you smile from ear to ear 🙂

  11. bingogirldeana Says:

    Our four-legged friends have a way of always making our day a little brighter. I know whenever I’m sad or blue, all I need to see or do is hold one of those fuzzy creatures and I burst into smiles. By the way, I LOVE the synchronized spinning lol.

    My cousin’s dog Travis is an adorable (terribly naughty) Beagle. He jumps on you when he wants attention and keeps standing with his paws pressed against yours legs for you to stroke his ears and neck. I love the way his eyes just bulge out when he does this, completely relaxed. My uncle dog’s Cocky (it’s cuter in Spanish) is this all black Chiwawa, save his tail which has the sweetest white top as if he’d dunked it in paint. Whenever he wags it I just melt. There’s nothing like a dog to make you feel better. 🙂

  12. Clowie Says:

    Those photos brought a smile to my face!

Bark at Us

