Wordless Wednesday – Pierson on Patrol

As a herding dog, my Pierson is always on the lookout. Inside, he keeps an eye out the front window for passersby, he listens for the UPS or FedEx truck, he is sure to alert me every time someone walks up our walkway. Outside, he mostly keeps an eye out for those pesky rabbits and squirrels. And even though he is in the back yard, he will bark at anyone he hears passing by the front of our house. Here are some photos of my Pierson on patrol, hard at work:

Pierson Keeping Watch on Porch 2

Pierson loves to sit on the porch in front of the steps so he can watch out for bunnies and other small animals. This gives him a good view of the yard and a quick way to get down so he can chase.

Pierson Keeping Watch on the Porch 5

Pierson sits here on the porch when he sees the squirrels living in my neighbor’s roof. I put this white lattice up because Pierson can fit through the railing. I was afraid the sight of the squirrel might excite him so much that he’d jump out without thinking.

Pierson Looking Out Window

When Pierson is not playing, eating, or sleeping, he is keeping guard. He likes to alert me every time someone walks by the house, especially if that someone is walking their dog.

Pierson Looking for Rabbits

Pierson is looking for those pesky rabbits that live under our shed.

What is Maya doing while Pierson is working hard?

Maya Sleeping on Porch Swing 1

Maya has no problem letting Pierson do all the work.

Maya Sleeping on the Porch Swing 4

ZZZZZZ

What is your dog’s job?

For more great pet photos, join the Wordless Wednesday blog hop below:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Tags: , , , ,

20 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Pierson on Patrol”

  1. Oz the Terrier Says:

    Hmmm, it sounds as if Pierson and I have very similar jobs. Happy Wednesday.
    Oz

  2. Michelle Liew Says:

    Mine would be guarding the door!

  3. The Golden Life Says:

    Callie and Shadow like to relax and rest up during the day so that when Ducky and I walk in the door after I’ve picked her up from daycare they can be ready for whatever torment she puts them through the rest of the evening. 🙂

    Ducky’s job — when she’s home from daycare — is to “guard” the house from inside. She can’t look out the window because it’s too high; but her hearing is phenomenal and she alerts me to every teeny-tiny noise outside. When we’re all outside, she protects her older sisters and me from the squirrels and birds that find their way into our backyard. (I don’t let them stay outside without my husband or me because one of our neighbors cannot be trusted. And there have been some dog-nappings in the area as well.)

    • Dawn Says:

      Ducky sounds exactly like Pierson when it comes to being alerted to every teeny-tiny noise! that’s too bad about your neighbor and dog nappings. I just don’t get some people.

  4. Kuruk Says:

    Good job being protector Pierson! I am protector tooowooowoooo!

  5. Joanne Says:

    Pierson looks after all my deliveries to UK via you then, pretty important job, well done Pierson !! My dog is soooooooo lucky, he gets to test out bestselling toys, wear fabulous comfy fleece dog harnesses which we manufacture and of course there’s the modelling for our website !!! Dougie the Westie is pretty busy !! Nice post, enjoyed reading.

    • Dawn Says:

      Pierson is great at alerting me every time your deliveries arrive at my house. The FedEx guy brings Maya & Pierson cookies! Lucky dogs indeed. Dougie too. 🙂

  6. Nailah Bone Says:

    What a gorgeous puppy! 🙂 My dog’s job is hamming it up big time for treats! XD

  7. rumpydog Says:

    Hmmmm…. good question. DeDe is the one that lays in the doorway and barks and errant noises. I’m more of the butler. I whine when cats fight and I let Jen know what time it is…. ESPECIALLY cookie time!

  8. Ann Staub Says:

    What a hard worker he is 🙂 Shiner’s job is pretty much the same as Pierson’s job lol. She is also great at cleaning up the food that the baby throws on the ground. Clean up crew!

  9. weliveinaflat Says:

    Bwahahahahahaha… they are perfect together!

  10. 2browndawgs Says:

    LOL one a worker and one a rester. 🙂 Good idea about the lattice.

  11. rubytheairedale Says:

    Oh, you KNOW Pierson and I are cut from the same cloth!!! That is exactly what I do all day!! And, if the UPS or FEDEX trucks come…I KNOW it’s for MOI !! So I bark and bark until Ma gets off her arse and gets MY box inside so I can inspect it!
    Yups, our work is never done…..
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  12. Lindsay Says:

    Those pictures of Pierson are so cute. He’s so serious. He reminds me of my parents’ springer spaniel. She is always hard at work, partrolling the yard. She notices everything, and is constantly making her rounds or watching from the windows. Then at night, she crashes.

    And then, on the other hand, my parents’ golden is just like Maya. Not a care in the world. Her job is to hang out with the people. That’s how Ace is too.

    By the way, I have been admiring that collar Maya is wearing. Looks pretty!

    • Dawn Says:

      I’m not sure which traits I like more. I love Pierson’s energy but I love Maya’s laid back attitude too. I guess I have the best of both worlds!

      Maya’s collar was made by a friend of mine. She used to run a business making these collars but has since turned her focus onto other passions. She will still make custom requests, though, so Maya will get another new collar soon.

  13. Sadie Mae Says:

    They seem to make a great team!

Bark at Us

