Saying Goodbye to My Mom

Sorry I’ve been away so long. If you follow this blog, then you know my mom has been struggling with brain cancer. What you didn’t know is that she passed away just before Thanksgiving. Needless to say, it has been a sad time for me. And so I want to share a tribute of my mother.

My Mom's High School Photo

This is my mom’s high school (?) photo.

MY MOM’S RESCUED DOGS
On July 25th of this year, I told you about many of the dogs my mom has rescued over the years. Well, I found these photos recently and wanted to share their stories too.

Me Angela and 5 Dogs in the Snow

Oregon, winter, 1986 (?) Me, my sister, and our five rescued dogs.

Vacation with Six Dogs
I was probably about 12 years old when this photo was taken. I remember the trip well because we fit two adults, two kids, and six dogs in our car. I remember six dogs but neither my sister nor I remember who that was and he/she is not pictured. It could have been Squash. I think we had Squash by that time. Or we could have still had Lady.

Anyway, I’m on the left and my sister Angela is on the right. The dogs left to right are Prince (nicknamed Poof), Cassie, Licorice (Licky), ?, and Frog Lips. I’ve told you Cassie’s rescue story. I don’t remember the black dog’s name because we must have only had her for only a short time. My mom probably either found her or took her in temporarily, and then gave her away to a nice family.

Frog Lips
Frog Lips has a very interesting story. This man found her near death on the side of the road. She had an axe in her head and one of her eyes was gouged out. He helped her recover and named her Frog Lips. Don’t ask me why, he just did. His health got really bad, though, and he could no longer take care of her. My mom was a good friend of his so she took her in.

Frog Lips had really bad separation anxiety. And like many German Short-Haired Pointers, she would roam long distances if she got out. I remember my mom yelling for her on a number of occasions. We called her Lips for short, so can you imagine my mom loudly calling, “Lips. Lips!” out into our neighborhood? 😀

Dogs Lady (Lab) Max (Chi mix) Cassie (Sheltie)

Our rescued dogs, Lady, a black Lab, Max, probably a Chi and Terrier mix, and Cassie, a Sheltie.

Lady
This photo is of Lady, Max, and Cassie. As stated earlier, I’ve told Cassie’s story. I don’t remember Max’s story, but I do remember Lady’s story. My mom went duck hunting with a friend and found Lady out wandering around on her own. My mom tried to find out who the owner was, but never did. Lady was a great dog. I remember sneaking her food from my plate when my mom made something I didn’t like. And I remember that Lady smiled a lot.

Dad and Collie Dog Ranger

This is Ranger, a Collie my mom rescued. I think that is my dad walking him.

Ranger
This last photo is of Ranger. I told you about him on the July 25th, 2014 post. I didn’t have a photo then, but I have it now.

Squash
I could not find a picture of Squash. I told you on July 25th that he was abandoned by our neighbors. But I recently found out that our neighbors were actually going to shoot him because they didn’t want to take him with them when they moved. Thank goodness my mom was there to stop them and rescue this great dog.

Mom and Me on My 2nd Birthday

My mom is holding me for my 2nd birthday.

I AM LIKE MY MOM
I am who I am because of you, Mom. I learned my independence and strength by watching you. When life kicks me down, I get my example from you and get right back up again. I get my love of dogs from you. Before dog rescue groups became common, there were people like you to step in and give creatures that can’t fend for themselves a chance to live a good life. You are the kind of person I hope I can be. I get my joy for crafts from you. Like you, I like to make things with my own hands. I even get my creativity for cooking from you. Although I don’t care much for cooking, I enjoy coming up with interesting recipes. I get that from you. I get my crazy need to save things from you too. Like you, I’m a pack rat. 😉 And sometimes, when I hear myself laugh, I realize I sound just like you. 😀 Like you, I have a positive outlook on life and can smile even through the toughest times. I got that all from you mom. You may be gone, but you live on through me, our family, and through everyone else’s life that you’ve touched. I love you very much. ❤❤❤

Tags: , , ,

27 Responses to “Saying Goodbye to My Mom”

  1. The Golden Life Says:

    Oh, Dawn, I’m SO VERY SORRY about your Mom! I lost my own to breast cancer the Saturday just before Thanksgiving in ’79. The Christmas/New Year’s holidays that year are just a blurry spot in my memory. My heart and prayers go out to you and your family.

  2. The Golden Life Says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your Mom! Funny how we daughters often seem so much like our moms…I laugh at myself when I hear words coming out of my mouth that my mom would have said in a similar situation. And I get my emotional strength and fortitude from my mom, just as you do from yours.

  3. Lindsay Says:

    I’ve been thinking of you. I’m so sorry to hear about your mom. She sounds like such an amazing person who made life better for so many animals and people.

  4. Will and Eko Says:

    So sorry to hear the devastating news. Your mother clearly loved greatly and freely. As you noted, that love now flows through you. A legacy we should all hope for after our time.

  5. Julianne Victoria Says:

    Sorry for your loss. The pups say: wooooooooowoooooooooooo!

  6. marina kanavaki Says:

    A beautiful tribute to your mother, Dawn, but not a ‘farewell’ as she is surely within you, forever. I know how hard, these days especially, can be. Sending you my thoughts.

  7. Jodi Says:

    Dawn, I’m so sorry to hear about your mom, I know how special she was to you and I thank you for sharing all that special with your readers. What a wonderful human being and a wonderful advocate for animals, long before it was popular. I’m sure there is a special place for people like your mom and I know she was greeted by so many souls that she saved.

    I will continue to hold you and your family in my heart and in my prayers and I will pray you find some peace and time to take care of yourself.

    Hugs to you my friend.

  8. Ann "Paws" Staub Says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your mom 😦 Mine passed away 2 weeks ago unexpectedly also. Her breast cancer came back plus liver failure. It’s definitely tough, and I hope you’ve been healing OK.

    • Nature by Dawn Says:

      Thank you, Ann. OMG, I’m sorry about your mom too. 😥 I can’t imagine what it was like for you to have her to go unexpectedly like that. And so young, too. My mom was in her early 60s, also too young. Cancer is a terrible terrible thing. My thoughts and prayers to you and your family.

  9. 2 Brown Dawgs Says:

    I knew this post would come one day. I am very sad for you and your family. Your Mom was sure a great lady. Thanks for sharing her with us.

  10. Susan C. Willett Says:

    So sorry for your loss. My dad died in September, so I can understand a little about how it feels. What a wonderful gift your mom gave you–that love of dogs. And what beautiful memories. Hold them close. Thanks so much for sharing them with us.

    Wishing you a sweet and healthy new year.

    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats.

  11. Joanne Says:

    A touching tribute to your mum Dawn. I share your sorrow which I know you will feel especially today as we move from one year to another, when it is a time for hope and a new day, a new Dawn in fact, which you will surely be, the better for being your Mom’s daughter xx

  12. Hawk aka BrownDog Says:

    Hi Y’all!

    While I understand your pain, having lost both my parents many years ago, I thought this was an unbelievably touching tribute to your mom.

    Have a blessed, safe and healthy 2015.

    BrownDog’s Human

  13. Dakota/Caren/Cody Says:

    I cannot begin to tell you how deeply saddened I am by this news. I am so terribly, terribly sorry. Your Mom is looking down with pride though with this incredibly beautiful tribute. Sending you love and comforting ((((hugs))))

  14. Jan K Says:

    I am so very sorry for your loss of your mother (and sorry I’m late coming by to say so too). She sounds like a lovely woman who passed on the best of herself to you.

Bark at Us

