Memories from the Baxter Stuffed Dog

Old Baxter / New Baxter

Poor old noseless Baxter and new Baxter.

People, do you have any of your toys left from your childhood? I do. It is the Baxter stuffed dog and I’ve had it for 30 years now. It is not just special to me because it is a stuffed dog. I mean, for someone who loves dogs, every stuffed dog toy is special, right? But the Baxter stuffed dog is special for two other very important reasons.

In December 1982, I got the Baxter stuffed dog. You can see me holding it in this old photograph.

Me and the Baxter Stuffed Dog

This is me in 1982 with my new stuffed dog named Baxter. Don’t make fun of my hair.

If memory serves me correctly, I got my dog Cassie in November of 1983. Cassie was a year old at the time, so that would put her as being born at around the same time as I got the stuffed dog Baxter. And even though Baxter was not the same breed as my real dog Cassie, for whatever reason I associated it with her. In my child-like mind, Cassie and Baxter were brother and sister. So when Cassie died in 1996, I tied her dog tags to the Baxter stuffed dog.

Cassie and I

This is Cassie and I in 1987. Cassie was a very special friend. Again, don’t make fun of my hair.

Something happened to Baxter a few years later that makes him even more special. My beloved dog Sephi chewed his nose off! Thank goodness, that is all she did. She would have done more damage if I hadn’t rescued him. So Baxter no longer has a nose. Well, I still have his nose. I just haven’t glued it back on. If you haven’t guessed, the second reason Baxter is so special to me is because he has also become a memory for Sephi (who passed away in 2011).

Old Baxter Stuffed Dog

This is the same Baxter stuffed dog toy from the 1982 photograph. You can see Cassie’s dog tags tied to it.

Why is the stuffed dog called Baxter? That is the name on his manufacturer’s tag. And apparently this stuffed dog is so popular, that the company has made a number of them. I even found this newer version of the Baxter stuffed dog at a garage sale! I also found the older version (vintage) selling on ebay for almost $40!!!

New Baxter Stuffed Dog

This is the new Baxter stuffed dog that I recently found at a garage sale.

Tag from the Baxter Stuffed Dog

As you can see, this stuffed dog is named Baxter.

Do you have any special childhood toys? Any which remind you of a beloved pet?

Tags: , , ,

21 Responses to “Memories from the Baxter Stuffed Dog”

  1. Loy Says:

    I actually have a red bulldog that I adore! Glad you still have Baxter, he obviously is a keeper!

  2. rumpydog Says:

    Jen has a talking husky dog that is nothing like me but still reminds her of me. šŸ™‚

  3. Long Life Cats and Dogs Says:

    Wouldn’t dream of making fun of your hair. Now, the gowns, well, that’s a different matter all together šŸ˜€
    I can see why Baxter was so special to you. Can’t believe how much they sell for!

  4. mollieandalfie Says:

    We use to have those in the UK, they were called the Sad Sam collection šŸ™‚ Haven’t seen them in years..Will you come vote for me, I could win a prize šŸ™‚ xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. 2browndawgs Says:

    Any stuffed animals that I had as a kid would be pretty old by now. šŸ˜‰

    You were all cute together. šŸ™‚

  6. FleaByte Says:

    Your Baxter is darling. I had a yarn dog that my mom made that I loved, but someone stole it when I was in college. My other critter, which hangs out on the bookshelf, is Opus, from Bloom County, the political version with the long tie. A friend gave it to me in college more than 20 years ago and it likes to hang out in the living room still.

    • Dawn Says:

      That’s not at all nice that someone stole your yarn dog! So sad. That toy had to be extra special because your mom made it.

  7. snoopys@snoopysdogblog Says:

    That is just so sweet!! šŸ™‚

    My Mum has a wooden snoopy dog that you pull along on the floor, it was her younger brothers as a child and Mum remembered it. After he passed suddenly nearly 3 years ago Mum asked her parents if they knew where it was, his sons were there at the time and they knew exactly where it was and Mum really treasures it! She also doesn’t think it’s a co-incidence it’s a Snoopy Dog šŸ™‚

    Big wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy šŸ™‚

    • Dawn Says:

      Sorry to hear about your mum’s younger brother. But it’s great she was able to get one of his special toys; and funny that it’s Snoopy. It sounds like a very memorable toy indeed.

  8. Fluffy Tufts Says:

    Thanks for sharing your memories! I have a small white fluffy dog teddy called Tinsdale who reminds me of my first dog Nicky.

    • Dawn Says:

      Cute! I know every time I see a stuffed dog at a store (or garage sale), I always look for ones that remind me of past (or present) dogs. I need to find a yellow Lab (easy) and an Aussie mix (hard).

  9. Deana Says:

    Thank you for sharing that wonderful story. I’m sorry about your pets but I’m glad you have something to remember them by always. He’s a sweetie! šŸ™‚ I do have some very special childhood toys with many great memories. As a kid I wasn’t able to have a pet, but one of the most treasured four-legged companions in my life was my uncle’s boxer Chester. I knew him when I was 4 years old and I loved him dearly. We grew up together, and he was the biggest softie you’ll ever meet. It’s been years since he passed but I miss him still. A month after he died, I went to go visit my grandma and she had this little stuffed boxer toy dog I couldn’t tear away from my hands, so I named him Chester and kept him close as a reminder ever since.

    By the way, I think your hair looks lovely in both pics. šŸ™‚

  10. jbear81 Says:

    I too have a Baxter! He’s quite worn – had him for 31 years and no plans to ever get rid of him. Oddly enough, I’m working on potentially writing a novel and he is going to be a part of it… More to come:)

  11. Tero Says:

    Wau! I had Baxter too here in Finland, It was my favourite toy for some time. I think I got it around 82-83′ as birthday present. Nice memories.

  12. RagingMoon1987 Says:

    I still have my Baxter! He’s older than I am, in fact! Mama was pregnant with me, and my dad and my uncle went to look for something cute that the baby might want. My uncle found Baxter and he became my first toy. He’s tucked away in a box right now, safe and sound!

  13. Ivy Says:

    I have a Baxter too! It was my very first toy from when I was a baby.

Bark at Us